OddsShark Top Sportsbooks

Rose Bowl Betting


Top Rose Bowl Betting Sites
Rank Sportsbook Start Today!
  • Read Review
  • Mobile Friendly & Live Betting
  • Bonus: 50% Up To $250
  • Read Review
  • Mobile Friendly & Live Betting
  • Bonus: 50% Up To $2500

Hosted in Pasadena, California, and by far the oldest of the college football bowl games, The Rose Bowl is nicknamed ‘The Granddaddy of them all’ for a reason. In 1890, Pasadena hosted the Tournament of Roses Parade, essentially bragging to Eastern states of their warm late December weather, while states like New York were buried in snow. It was not until 1902 they decided to add a college football game to enhance the event.

Originally held in Tournament Park, the venue proved to be far too small for a game of this magnitude, and in 1922, they began constructing the Rose Bowl Stadium near the Caltech Campus for the New Year’s Day game in 1923. It had the largest football stadium capacity for years, eventually being passed by Michigan Stadium in 1998. The current capacity for the Rose Bowl Stadium sits at 92,542, and is known to be the highest attended college football game year after year.

Sponsored by Northwestern Mutual, the Rose Bowl functions as a semi-final playoff game for the College Football Playoffs every three years, paired with the Sugar Bowl and alternating with the other four major bowls. In the years that it’s not hosting the semi-final, it’s host to the Pac-12 and Big Ten champions. Usually played on New Year’s Day, but when New Year’s Day falls on a Sunday, it is played on that Monday, the 2nd. This will occur this year, for the 14th time in the Rose Bowl’s existence – the game will be played Monday, January 2nd, 2017.

This American New Year Celebration has seen plenty of games in its existence. USC tops the attendance chart with 33 appearances and 24 Rose Bowl wins, followed by Michigan with 20 appearances and 8 wins and Stanford with 15 appearances and 7 wins. It was actually last year during the January 1st, 2016 matchup, that Stanford blew Iowa out of the water 45-16, earning their 7th win.

The Rose Bowl Player of the game award, has no fancy name, but has seen plenty of talent over the years. Few have earned the crystal trophy on more than one occasion; Bob Schloredt and Charles White are the only two so far to have two sitting in their trophy case. There are some big football names who have graced the recipient list, including O.J. Simpson, Vince Young, and more recently, Andy Dalton, Mark Sanchez and Marcus Mariota.

Now that you have your brief history lesson, you are ready to place your bets on the 2017 Rose Bowl. The OddsShark Editorial team will bring you all of the latest news, statistics and trends that you’ll need before you start placing your wagers on the USC vs. Penn State match up.

Ready to bet on the Rose Bowl? Head to our Sportsbook Review page