Odds Shark Top Sportsbooks
*Terms and Conditions apply to all bonus offers on this website. Visit operator for details.

IPL Awards Odds 2021: Who’s in Contention to Pick up the Prizes?

AB De Villiers IPL Awards Odds 2021: Who’s in Contention to Pick up the Prizes?

The ultimate prize in the IPL is of course the winner’s trophy. That’s what all the teams are trying to win and that’s the silverware that the players most want to get their hands on.

There can only be one winner of the IPL, but there are a few other awards up for grabs for players who shine on an individual basis, rather than a collective one.

It’s not any player’s fault if they play out of their skins every game, yet their team fails to win matches despite their standout efforts. And that’s where the Emerging Player Award and the Gamechanger of the Season Award come into play.

There’s also a Fair Play Award to be won, for the team that shows just that.

Let’s look at the IPL awards odds and pick out a few of the best bets on them.

Emerging Player Award

The first IPL awards odds to look at are on the Emerging Player of the Year betting market. But who is eligible to win the award?

Here’s the criteria as set out by the IPL itself:

Criteria for Emerging Player Award

“This award will be given by BCCI to the player who has best demonstrated, through his performances during the season, his potential to be a future star of international cricket. In order to be eligible for the Emerging Player Award, a player must meet all four of the following criteria:”

  • Should be born after April 1, 1994
  • Should have played 5 or less Test matches or 20 or less ODIs
  • Should have played in 25 or less IPL matches (as of the start of the season)
  • Should have not previously won the Emerging Player Award

So, in a nutshell, we’re talking about players who are 26 or under, who haven’t played much international cricket, who have never won it before, and who have played not more than two full seasons of IPL cricket.

Emerging Player Odds: Rahul Chahar starts well

Emerging Player Award Odds
Jhye Richardson+500
Ishan Kishan+550
James Neesham+1000
Kyle Jamieson+1000
Mujeeb Ur Rahman+1000
Rahul Chahar+1000
Shahrukh Khan+1100
Ripal Patel+1200
Marco Jansen+1400
Sheldon Jackson+1400
Vishnu Vinod+1400
Arjun Tendulkar+1600
Chetan Sakariya+2000
Lukman Hussain Meriwala+2000
Mohammad Azharuddeen+2000
Raturaj Gaikward+2000

In the table above, you can see the leading contenders for the IPL Emerging Player of the Year Award.

It was a bit of a slow start for favorite Jhye Richardson, whose Punjab Kings were up against the Rajasthan Royals. He bowled four overs and conceded 55 runs in what was admittedly a high-scoring game, claiming just the important wicket of Jos Buttler. The Kings won the game in the end but Richardson will need to be more economical and take more wickets if he’s going to have a sniff at winning this.

Mumbai’s Ishan Kishan has yet to get going, either. He scored a quickfire 28 off 19 in their first game but got just 1 in the second, the youngster paying the price for being too aggressive too soon.

It all means that the big mover in these early stages is Ishan’s teammate at the Indians, Rahul Chahar.

He had a fruitless first outing against RCB but came roaring back in the second match. His brilliant spell of leg spin bowling claimed the outstanding figures of 4-27 in what was the turning point of the match. With KKR well set, it was those four wickets that turned the game on its head and why Chahar was ultimately deemed man of the match when Mumbai eventually won.

It’s those sorts of performances that could see Chahar become a real contender.

Gamechanger of the Season Award

How is the award given out?

This was formerly known as the Player of the Year Award and used to be awarded via a vote. But since 2013, it’s been known as the Gamechanger of the Season Award and is handed out on an objective rather than subjective basis. Points are awarded as follows:

“Every four hit is equal to 2.5 points. Every six hit and wicket taken is equal to 3.5 points each. Every dot ball bowled gets 1 point. Every catch taken and stumping done are equal to 2.5 points each.”

Gamechanger Award Odds: Stokes out of the IPL, Samson the pacesetter

Odds to Win the Gamechanger of the Season Award

Gamechanger of the Season Award
AB de Villiers+1000
Andre Russell+1200
Glenn Maxwell+1200
Sanju Samson+1200
Chris Morris+1400
Kieron Pollard+1400
Marcus Stoinis+1400
Rashid Khan+1400
Rishabh Pant+1400
Mohammad Nabi+1600
Axar Patel+2000
Chris Lynn+2000

The big news on this market is that one of the contenders, Ben Stokes, is a contender no more. The English all-rounder broke a finger while fielding in the Royals’ first match and he’s now been ruled out of the whole tournament.

With his big hits, medium pace bowling and brilliantly athletic fielding, he’s a player who picks up points in lots of different ways. So he’s a big loss to the Royals for the rest of the campaign and one less contender in this market.

Market favorite AB de Villiers played a fine knock for RCB and one that was very typical of him. His 48 off 27 was scored at a strike rate of 177 and included four boundaries and two maximums. For good measure, he also took a catch. But at the moment he’s just in 30th place on 20.5 points although he’s only played one match to date.

Currently occupying third place in the table with 42.5 points is Krunal Pandya of Mumbai. The Indian international has taken two wickets, bowled 22 dot balls and also contributed with four boundaries and a catch. All stats typical of a high-class all-rounder, if Pandya carries on collecting points like this, he’ll have a real chance here.

On 57 points is Sanju Samson, whose 119 the other day included 12 fours and seven sixes. Lots of runs, of which most were boundaries, plus a catch as wicket-keeper have seen him make an excellent start to his season.  He’s currently available at +1200.

But leading proceedings is Nitish Rana. The KKR opener scored 80 in a winning cause and 57 in a losing one and those knocks included 15 boundaries and six sixes. As an opener, he’s going to have lots of chances to play knocks where he gets to at least 50 and if he carries on in this form, he can start moving away from the pack. The Betway market has been slow to react to his start and he’s still available at big odds of +2500.

How to bet on the IPL

Choose one or more of our recommended IPL betting sites, open an account and then head to “Cricket” and underneath that, “IPL.”

Here you’ll find not only all of the individual match markets but also the outright markets like the three mentioned above, plus other ones like tournament top batsman, top bowler or the overall winner.  

Researching stats and team IPL news is one way of getting the most out of your IPL bets but another good option is to keep an eye on these very pages and follow the IPL betting tips of our experts.

In the meanwhile, here’s a guide to how to bet on IPL.