OddsShark Top Sportsbooks
*Terms and Conditions apply to all bonus offers on this website. Visit operator for details.

Kerr Tops NBA Coach of the Year Odds

With all of the exciting young talent in the NBA these days, it’s easy to overlook the men calling the shots on the sidelines. But one sportsbook has released odds on which bench boss will win the Coach of the Year Award, with a familiar face topping the list.

At Sports Interaction, Golden State’s Steve Kerr is a +300 favorite to garner the hardware. Cleveland’s Tyronn Lue (+400), San Antonio’s Gregg Popovich (+400), Boston’s Brad Stevens (+700), Minnesota’s Tom Thibodeau (+700), Los Angeles’ Doc Rivers (+1000), New York’s Jeff Hornacek (+1200), Utah’s Quin Snyder (+1200), Detroit’s Stan Van Gundy (+2000) and Indiana’s Nate McMillan (+2000) round out the top 10.

It’s no surprise to see Kerr as the front-runner. Since coming to the Bay Area in 2014, Kerr has quickly become one of the top coaches in the Association. In two seasons with Golden State, the former point guard boasts a fantastic 140-24 record. Kerr received the 2015-16 Coach of the Year Award despite missing half of the campaign due to back surgery.

The Warriors didn’t get the result they wanted in the Finals, but Kerr became the first person in NBA history to be a part of 70-win teams as a player and head coach.

Lue is a solid bet at +400 odds. The 2015-16 campaign was a drama-filled one for the wine and gold, but the Cavs excelled once Lue replaced ex-head coach David Blatt. The 39-year-old clearly has the respect of his players, and there’s going to be no shortage of good vibes in Northeast Ohio after LeBron James and company brought Cleveland its first championship since 1964.

My favorite pick on the board is Stevens. Since making his NBA debut in 2013, Stevens has risen through the ranks, becoming one of the best coaches in the league at the age of 39. The Celtics are viewed as the No. 2 team in the Eastern Conference, and they could do some serious damage this year after adding Al Horford to an already deep roster. Stevens hasn’t won the Coach of the Year Award yet, but he’s going to earn quite a few before all is said and done.

The Red Auerbach Trophy is awarded based solely on regular season performance, so you can throw playoff results out the window in your handicapping. In the last 10 years, Sam Mitchell (2007 Toronto Raptors) is the only man to earn the bragging rights on a team that won less than 50 games. The Raps went 47-35 that year. Five coaches won at least 60 contests in that span.

Who will win the 2016-17 Coach of the Year Award?

Odds as of October 19 at Sports Interaction

  • Steve Kerr +300
  • Tyronn Lue +400
  • Gregg Popovich +400
  • Tom Thibodeau +700
  • Brad Stevens +700
  • Doc Rivers +1000
  • Jeff Hornacek +1200
  • Quin Snyder +1200
  • Stan Van Gundy +2000
  • Nate McMillan +2000
  • Terry Stotts +2500
  • Dwane Casey +2500
  • Alvin Gentry +3000
  • David Fizdale +3000
  • Billy Donovan +3300
  • Erik Spoelstra +3300
  • Fred Hoiberg +3300
  • Luke Walton +3300
  • Mike D'Antoni +3300
  • Mike Budenholzer +4000
  • Scott Brooks +4000
  • Brett Brown +5000
  • Frank Vogel +5000
  • Jason Kidd +5000
  • Rick Carlisle +5000
  • Steve Clifford +5000
  • David Joerger +9000
  • Michael Malone +10000
  • Earl Watson +10000
  • Kenny Atkinson +15000