Alamo Bowl Betting History

One of the most successful contests on the college football bowl game schedule, the Alamo Bowl has been a fixture at San Antonio’s Alamodome since 1993, and now features matchups between squads from the Pac-12 and the Big 12.

Originally designed as a showcase for teams from the Pac-12 and now-defunct Southwest Conference, the Alamo Bowl involved Big 12 and Big Ten teams from 1995 through 2009, before the Pac-12 returned to replace the Big Ten in 2010.

The Alamo Bowl has been a consistent Sportsbook at the box office, regularly attracting crowds of over 60,000 to see some of the biggest college football stars in the nation. Led by Heisman Trophy-winning quarterback Robert Griffin III, the Baylor Bears topped the Washington Huskies 67-56 as 9-point favorites at the 2011 Alamo Bowl in the highest-scoring bowl game in college football history.

Overtime was needed on three occasions during the first 24 editions of the Alamo Bowl, including the 2015 game that saw the TCU Horned Frogs escape with a 47-41 win over the Oregon Ducks as 7.5-point underdogs in a triple-overtime thriller.

The Ducks earned the victory in their first Alamo Bowl appearance three years earlier, with sophomore passer Marcus Mariota picking up MVP honors while leading Oregon to a 30-7 win over the Texas Longhorns as 14.5-point chalk.

Other Alamo Bowl MVPs who later went on to enjoy successful NFL careers include future Hall of Fame quarterback Drew Brees, who earned the honor in 1998 with the Purdue Boilermakers. Future Pro Bowl wide receiver Jeremy Maclin was named offensive MVP in the Missouri Tigers’ 30-23 overtime win over Northwestern in 2008, and Seattle Seahawks wide receiver Tyler Lockett received the nod as a member of the Kansas State Wildcats in January 2015.

This year’s Alamo Bowl features the Iowa State Cyclones and the Washington State Cougars. For the latest odds, a free pick and handicapping information, visit our Alamo Bowl Game Center

Alamo Bowl History
Year Bowl Team Score Team Score Spread ATS Sportsbook SU Sportsbook
1995 Alamo Bowl Michigan 20 Texas A&M 22 +5 TEXA&M TEXA&M
1996 Alamo Bowl Texas Tech 0 Iowa 27 +3 IOWA IOWA
1997 Alamo Bowl Purdue 33 Oklahoma State 20 +3.5 PURDUE PURDUE
1998 Alamo Bowl Kansas State 34 Purdue 37 -14 KAN.ST PURDUE
1999 Alamo Bowl Penn State 24 Texas A&M 0 -6 PENNST PENNST
2000 Alamo Bowl Nebraska 66 Northwestern 17 +14.5 NEBR NEBR
2001 Alamo Bowl Iowa 19 Texas Tech 16 -1.5 IOWA IOWA
2002 Alamo Bowl Colorado 28 Wisconsin 31 +7 WISCSN WISCSN
2003 Alamo Bowl Michigan State 3 Nebraska 17 -3 NEBR NEBR
2004 Alamo Bowl Ohio State 33 Oklahoma State 7 -2 OHIOST OHIOST
2005 Alamo Bowl Nebraska 32 Michigan 28 -10 NEBR NEBR
2006 Alamo Bowl Iowa 24 Texas 26 -9 IOWA TEXAS
2007 Alamo Bowl Penn State 24 Texas A&M 17 +4.5 PENNST PENNST
2008 Alamo Bowl Northwestern 23 Missouri 30 -14 NWESTN MIZZOU
2009 Alamo Bowl Michigan State 31 Texas Tech 41 -9.5 TXTECH TXTECH
2010 Alamo Bowl Arizona 10 Oklahoma State 36 -4.5 OKLAST OKLAST
2011 Alamo Bowl Washington 56 Baylor 67 -9 BAYLOR BAYLOR
2012 Alamo Bowl Texas 31 Oregon State 27 -1 TEXAS TEXAS
2013 Alamo Bowl Oregon 30 Texas 7 +14.5 OREG OREG
2014 Alamo Bowl UCLA 40 Kansas State 35 -1.5 UCLA UCLA
2015 Alamo Bowl Oregon 41 TCU 47 +7.5 TCU TCU
2016 Alamo Bowl Oklahoma State 38 Colorado 8 -3 OKLAST OKLAST
2017 Alamo Bowl Stanford 37 TCU 39 -3 Stanford TCU
2018 Alamo Bowl Iowa State 26 Washington State 28 -1.5 Wash State Wash State