Boca Raton Bowl Betting History

An ESPN Events creation, the Boca Raton Bowl is now one of eight bowl games played in the state of Florida each postseason. In its current configuration the Boca Raton Bowl matches a team from the Mid-American Conference against a member of either the American Athletic Conference or Conference USA.

The game is one of the first played each bowl season, and takes place at Florida Atlantic University Stadium in Boca Raton.

The Boca Raton Bowl debuted in 2014 when the Marshall Thundering Herd, that year’s C-USA champions, beat the Northern Illinois Huskies, the champions out of the MAC, 52-23. The teams combined for 930 yards of offense and nine touchdowns, including a 93-yard kickoff return for a score by Marshall’s DeAndre Reeves.

The next year, former Kansas City Chief Kareem Hunt scored a pair of fourth-quarter touchdowns to lead his Toledo Rockets to a 32-17 upset of the Temple Owls. Those teams only combined for 770 yards that night.

In 2016, the Western Kentucky Hilltoppers, champions from C-USA, outlasted the Memphis Tigers 51-31. The key play in that game may have come late in the first quarter when Western Kentucky offensive lineman Forrest Lamp, now a member of the Los Angeles Chargers, scored a touchdown on a lateral/screen, giving the Hilltoppers a lead they’d never relinquish. The two teams combined for 1,089 yards of total offense that night. Western Kentucky played that game under an interim head coach, after losing Jeff Brohm to the greener pastures of Purdue two weeks earlier.

This year’s Boca Raton Bowl features the UAB Blazers against the Northern Illinois Huskies. For odds, a free pick and handicapping info, check out our Boca Raton Bowl Game Center.

Boca Raton Bowl History
Year Bowl Team Score Team Score Spread ATS Sportsbook SU Sportsbook
2014 Boca Raton Bowl Northen Illinois 23 Marshall 52 -8.5 Marshall Marshall
2015 Boca Raton Bowl Temple 17 Toledo 32 +2 Toledo Toledo
2016 Boca Raton Bowl WKU 51 Memphis 31 +6.5 WKU WKU
2017 Boca Raton Bowl Akron 3 Florida Atlantic 50 -23.5 Florida Atlantic Florida Atlantic
2018 Boca Raton Bowl UAB 37 Northern Illinois 13 -1.5 UAB UAB