Camping World Bowl Betting History

College football bettors can be forgiven for their confusion over the history of the Camping World Bowl. Originally intended as a showcase for the then recently built Joe Robbie Stadium in Miami, the game was first called the Sunshine Football Classic before being labeled as the Blockbuster Bowl in its 1990 debut.

A revolving door of sponsorships led to an array of subsequent name changes. After three years as the Blockbuster Bowl, the game was first rebranded as the Carquest Bowl in 1994, and was called MicronPC Bowl and Bowl in its final three years in South Florida.

In 2001, the game moved to its current home at Florida Citrus Bowl Stadium (now known as Camping World Stadium). The contest was briefly named the Tangerine Bowl as a salute to the predecessor to the present-day Citrus Bowl. Further sponsorship changes resulted in the game being called the Champs Sports Bowl from 2004 to 2011, and the Russell Athletic Bowl from 2012 to 2016, before it picked up its current label as the Camping World Bowl in 2017.

The Camping World Bowl now features matchups between teams from the ACC and the Big 12, and previously involved squads from the Big Ten, the former Big East and the American Athletic Conference.

The North Carolina State Wolfpack and Miami Hurricanes both made five appearances at this event through 2016, and are joined by the Florida State Seminoles as the only three-time Sportsbooks.

Quarterback Philip Rivers became the first player to twice claim MVP honors at this contest, as a member of the Wolfpack in 2000 and 2003, before going on to star with the NFL’s San Diego (now Los Angeles) Chargers. N.C. State pivot Russell Wilson would follow in his footsteps as 2010 MVP before going on to lead the Seattle Seahawks to a 43-8 victory over the Denver Broncos just three years later at Super Bowl XLVIII.

This year’s Camping World Bowl features the Syracuse Orange against the West Virginia Mountaineers. For the latest odds, a free pick and handicapping information, visit our Camping World Bowl Game Center

Year Bowl Team Score Team Score Spread ATS Sportsbook SU Sportsbook
1995 Carquest Bowl Arkansas 10 North Carolina 20 -1 UNC UNC
1996 Carquest Bowl Miami 31 Virginia 21 +3 MIAMI MIAMI
1997 Carquest Bowl Georgia Tech 35 West Virginia 30 +1.5 GATECH GATECH
1998 Bowl NC State 23 Miami 46 -5.5 MIAMI MIAMI
1999 Bowl Illinois 63 Virginia 21 -2 ILLINO ILLINO
2000 Bowl Minnesota 30 NC State 38 +3.5 N.C.ST N.C.ST
2001 Tangerine Bowl NC State 19 Pittsburgh 34 -1 PITT PITT
2002 Tangerine Bowl Texas Tech 55 Clemson 15 +4.5 TXTECH TXTECH
2003 Tangerine Bowl NC State 56 Kansas 26 +12 N.C.ST N.C.ST
2004 Champs Sports Bowl Syracuse 14 Georgia Tech 51 -6 GATECH GATECH
2005 Champs Sports Bowl Colorado 10 Clemson 19 -10 COLO CLEM
2006 Champs Sports Bowl Purdue 7 Maryland 24 +1.5 MARYL MARYL
2007 Champs Sports Bowl Michigan State 21 Boston College 24 -5 MICHST BOST.C
2008 Champs Sports Bowl Wisconsin 13 Florida State 42 -7 FLAST FLAST
2009 Champs Sports Bowl Wisconsin 20 Miami 14 -3.5 WISCSN WISCSN
2010 Champs Sports Bowl NC State 23 West Virginia 7 -3 N.C.ST N.C.ST
2011 Champs Sports Bowl Notre Dame 14 Florida State 18 -3 FLAST FLAST
2012 Russell Athletic Bowl Virginia Tech 13 Rutgers 10 +1.5 VATECH VATECH
2013 Russell Athletic Bowl Miami 9 Louisville 36 -5.5 LOUISV LOUISV
2014 Russell Athletic Bowl Clemson 40 Oklahoma 6 -6.5 Clemson Clemson
2015 Russell Athletic Bowl North Carolina 38 Baylor 49 +2.5 Baylor Baylor
2016 Russell Athletic Bowl West Virginia 14 Miami 31 -3 Miami Miami
2017 Camping World Bowl Virginia Tech 21 Oklahoma State 30 -6.5 Oklahoma State Oklahoma State
2018 Camping World Bowl Syracuse 34 West Virginia 18 +3 Syracuse Syracuse