OddsShark Top Sportsbooks

*Terms and Conditions apply to all bonus offers on this website. Please visit operator for details.

Peach Bowl

A committee appointed by the Lions Club of Atlanta was turned down three times in its attempt to bring a bowl game to the city, but the group finally received NCAA certification in 1968 and the first Peach Bowl was played December 30 that year at Georgia Tech’s Grant Field. LSU beat Florida State 31-27. The Peach Bowl moved to Atlanta-Fulton County Stadium in 1971 and then to the Georgia Dome in 1993 through 2016. For the foreseeable future, it will be held at the new Mercedes-Benz Stadium, home of the NFL’s Atlanta Falcons.

From 1993 until 2013, the Peach Bowl matched an SEC school against one from the ACC, but then the College Football Playoff was created, and the Peach became part of the New Year’s Six bowl rotation. The Georgia Dome hosted the 2016 semifinal between No. 1 Alabama and No. 4 Washington – it was the first time a No. 1 team played in the game. Mercedes-Benz Stadium is the home of the Jan. 8, 2018, national championship game. The Peach Bowl next hosts a semifinal on New Year’s Eve 2019.

The final collegiate game for Texas A&M Heisman winner Johnny Manziel was in the Peach Bowl on December 31, 2013, against Duke. Manziel led the Aggies back from a 38-17 halftime deficit to a 52-48 win, turning in the greatest offensive performance in the game’s history by completing 30 of 38 passes for 382 yards and four scores while rushing for 73 yards and a TD. It was the highest-scoring Peach Bowl ever. The Aggies were 14-point favorites, tied for the biggest spread ever in the game along with Alabama in 2016.

Other notable Peach Bowl alums include Miami’s Jim Kelly, Georgia’s Matthew Stafford and Hines Ward, Tennessee’s Reggie White, Maryland’s Randy White, Baylor’s Mike Singletary and Purdue’s Rod Woodson. Notable coaches include Georgia Tech’s Bobby Dodd, Tennessee’s Johnny Majors, Bobby Bowden (Florida State and West Virginia) and South Carolina’s Steve Spurrier. 

Looking for a close game? The Peach Bowl might not be the answer. From 2008 to 2016, just two games were decided by nine or fewer points. The game’s biggest-ever rout was TCU (-3) over Ole Miss 42-3 in 2014.

This year’s edition of the Peach Bowl features the No. 12-ranked UCF Knights vs the No. 7-ranked Auburn Tigers. UCF is a perfect 12-0 SU this season to go along with a 7-4-1 ATS record. After an upset win over Alabama, Auburn had hoped to punch its ticket into the College Football Playoff, but those hopes were dashed after losing to Georgia in the SEC championship game. View our betting preview of the game here.

For updated lines and great props for all bowl games head over to Bovada today.

Peach Bowl History
YearBowlTeamScoreTeamScoreSpreadATS WinnerSU Winner
1995Chick-Fil-A BowlGeorgia27Virginia34-6VIRGNAVIRGNA
1996Chick-Fil-A BowlClemson7LSU10-6.5CLEMLSU
1997Chick-Fil-A BowlClemson17Auburn21-6CLEMAUBRN
1998Chick-Fil-A BowlGeorgia35Virginia33-2GEORGIGEORGI
1999Chick-Fil-A BowlClemson7Mississippi State17-2.5MIS.STMIS.ST
2000Chick-Fil-A BowlLSU28Georgia Tech14-8.5LSULSU
2001Chick-Fil-A BowlNorth Carolina16Auburn10+2.5UNCUNC
2002Chick-Fil-A BowlMaryland30Tennessee3-1MARYLMARYL
2003Chick-Fil-A BowlTennessee14Clemson27+5CLEMCLEM
2004Chick-Fil-A BowlFlorida10Miami27-3MIAMIMIAMI
2005Chick-Fil-A BowlLSU40Miami3-6LSULSU
2006Chick-Fil-A BowlVirginia Tech24Georgia31+3GEORGIGEORGI
2007Chick-Fil-A BowlAuburn23Clemson20-2AUBRNAUBRN
2008Chick-Fil-A BowlLSU38Georgia Tech3-4LSULSU
2009Chick-Fil-A BowlTennessee14Virginia Tech37-5VTECHVTECH
2010Chick-Fil-A BowlFlorida State26South Carolina17-2.5FLASTFLAST
2011Chick-Fil-A BowlVirginia24Auburn43-3AUBRNAUBRN
2012Chick-Fil-A BowlClemson25LSU24-3.5CLEMCLEM
2013Chick-Fil-A BowlDuke48Texas A&M52-14TX A&MDUKE
2014Peach BowlMississippi3TCU42-3TCUTCU
2015Peach BowlHouston38Florida State24-7.5HoustonHouston
2016Peach BowlWashington7Alabama24-13AlabamaAlabama
2017Peach BowlUCF Auburn