Redbox Bowl

Redbox Bowl Betting History

The Redbox Bowl, formerly the Foster Farms Bowl, is played in the greater San Francisco area and debuted in 2002. It was then known as the San Francisco Bowl and was played at AT&T Park, home of baseball’s San Francisco Giants. In 2004, it became the Emerald Bowl and in 2010, the Fight Hunger Bowl. In 2014, the game got its current name and moved to Levi’s Stadium, home of the NFL’s 49ers, in Santa Clara.

Since then, the bowl has matched teams from the Pac-12 and Big Ten. It has been played in late December each year except following the 2010 season when it was moved to Jan. 9 – the night before the BCS Championship Game between Auburn and Oregon.

The biggest rout in the bowl game was in 2012 when Arizona State was a 12.5-point favorite, the heaviest in the game’s history, and blew out Navy 62-28. Behind quarterback Taylor Kelly’s four touchdown passes and one rushing score, the Sun Devils managed to score a touchdown on their first nine possessions. The closest game in the bowl’s history was in 2016 when Utah was an 8-point favorite and beat Indiana 26-24.  The Utes’ Joe Williams rushed for a Foster Farms Bowl-record 222 yards.

UCLA and Boston College have played in this bowl three times each, the most of any school. Perhaps the best-known NFL bowl alum from this game is former BC linebacker Luke Kuechly, now starring with the Carolina Panthers. Colin Kaepernick was Nevada’s senior QB when the Wolf Pack beat Kuechly’s Eagles 20-13 in the Jan. 9, 2011, game.

The Bruins, meanwhile, lost all three bowls, most recently in 2015 to Nebraska. The Cornhuskers’ Mike Riley became the first coach to win the bowl twice, also doing so in 2007 when his Oregon State team beat Maryland 21-14.

This year, the Michigan State Spartans will face off against the Oregon Ducks. For the latest odds, a free pick and handicapping information, visit our Redbox Bowl Game Center

Redbox Bowl History
Year Bowl Team Score Team Score Spread ATS Sportsbook SU Sportsbook
2002 Emerald Bowl Air Force 13 Virginia Tech 20 -11 AIRFOR VTECH
2003 Emerald Bowl Colorado State 21 Boston College 35 -2 BOST.C BOST.C
2004 Emerald Bowl Navy 34 New Mexico 19 -1 NAVY NAVY
2005 Emerald Bowl Utah 38 Georgia Tech 10 -9 UTAH UTAH
2006 Emerald Bowl Florida State 44 UCLA 27 -3.5 FLAST FLAST
2007 Emerald Bowl Maryland 14 Oregon State 21 -4.5 OREGST OREGST
2008 Emerald Bowl Miami 17 California 24 -10 MIAMI CAL
2009 Emerald Bowl Boston College 13 Southern Cal 24 -7.5 USC USC
2010 Fight Hunger Bowl Boston College 13 Nevada 20 -8 BOST.C NEVADA
2011 Fight Hunger Bowl UCLA 14 Illinois 20 -3 ILLINO ILLINO
2012 Fight Hunger Bowl Arizona State 62 Navy 28 +12.5 ARIZST ARIZST
2013 Fight Hunger Bowl Washington 31 BYU 16 +4.5 WASH WASH
2014 Foster Farms Bowl Maryland 21 Stanford 45 -10.5 Stanford Stanford
2015 Foster Farms Bowl UCLA 29 Nebraska 37 +4.5 Nebraska Nebraska
2016 Foster Farms Bowl Indiana 24 Utah 26 -3.5 Indiana Utah
2017 Foster Farms Bowl Arizona 35 Purdue 38 +2.5 Purdue Purdue
2018 Redbox Bowl Michigan State 6 Oregon 7 +1 Oregon Oregon