Frisco Bowl Betting History

Formerly known as the Miami Beach Bowl, the Frisco Bowl brought college football bowl game action to Frisco, Texas, for the first time in 2017. Created and operated by the American Athletic Conference, the Miami Beach Bowl enjoyed a brief three-year run at Marlins Park, the home of baseball’s Miami Marlins, before being acquired by ESPN, which rebranded the contest as the Frisco Bowl and moved it to Toyota Stadium in time for the 2017 college football bowl season.

Miami Beach Bowl matchups proved to be high-scoring affairs. Double overtime was required in the inaugural edition of this contest before the Memphis Tigers capped a seven-game SU win streak with a 55-48 victory over the BYU Cougars as 1-point chalk, blowing away a conservative total set at 55.5.

A year later, the Western Kentucky Hilltoppers and South Florida Bulls combined for 56 second-half points before WKU emerged with a 45-35 win as a 3-point underdog. Hilltoppers quarterback Brandon Doughty took home MVP honors in that contest, capping a two-year collegiate career during which he tossed an eye-popping 97 touchdown passes and was twice named Conference USA MVP. He would go on to be a seventh-round selection of the Miami Dolphins in the 2016 NFL Draft.

The final edition of the Miami Beach Bowl saw a squad from the American Athletic Conference triumph for a second time as the Tulsa Golden Hurricane reached the 10-win mark for the first time in four years with a crushing 55-10 win over the Central Michigan Chippewas as 12-point chalk.

DXL has signed on as the sponsor of the Frisco Bowl, which will annually feature a squad from the American battling an opponent from the Sun Belt Conference or the Mid-American Conference.

This year’s Frisco Bowl will see the San Diego State Aztecs take on the Ohio Bulldogs. Check out our Frisco Bowl Game Center for odds, a free pick and handicapping info.

FRISCO Bowl History
Year Bowl Team Score Team Score Spread ATS Sportsbook SU Sportsbook
2014 Miami Beach Bowl BYU 48 Memphis 55 -1 Memphis Memphis
2015 Miami Beach Bowl Western Kentucky 45 South Florida 35 +3 Western Kentucky Western Kentucky
2016 Miami Beach Bowl Central Michigan 10 Tulsa 55 -12 Tulsa Tulsa
2017 Frisco Bowl LA Tech 51 SMU 10 -4.5 LA Tech LA Tech
2018 Frisco Bowl San Diego State 0 Ohio 27 -2 Ohio Ohio