New Mexico Bowl Betting History

The New Mexico Bowl has been played at Dreamstyle Stadium, the on-campus home of the New Mexico Lobos in Albuquerque, New Mexico, since its inception in 2006. The Lobos have more appearances in this game than any other team with four, compiling a 2-2 SU and ATS record in those four games.

The Mountain West Conference has had a tie-in to this bowl since it began. The Conference USA signed a six-year deal that started in 2014 to send a regional team to this bowl game. The New Mexico Bowl originally had a bowl tie-in with the WAC from 2006 to 2010, and then a brief one with the Pac-12 in 2012 and 2013.

The team representing the Mountain West went 7-4 SU and 8-3 ATS through the first 11 games of this young bowl’s history. Seven of those 11 games were decided by eight points or less. From 2013 to 2016, the New Mexico Bowl produced a final combined score of at least 80 points three out of four times.

The 2012 New Mexico Bowl raised the bar on offense as the Arizona Wildcats and New Mexico combined for 97 total points in a 49-48 Wildcats win. The game still holds New Mexico Bowl records for combined points scored, first downs, rushing yards and total yards. Not to be outdone, the Washington State Cougars and Colorado State Rams put on an encore in 2013 in a thrilling shootout that ended with a 48-45 Colorado State win.

This year’s New Mexico Bowl pits the Utah State Aggies against the North Texas Mean Green. For odds, a free pick and handicapping info, check out our New Mexico Bowl Center.

New Mexico Bowl History
Year Bowl Team Score Team Score Spread ATS Sportsbook SU Sportsbook
2006 New Mexico Bowl San Jose State 20 New Mexico 12 -3 SJ.ST SJ.ST
2007 New Mexico Bowl Nevada 0 New Mexico 23 -2 NEWMEX NEWMEX
2008 New Mexico Bowl Fresno State 35 Colorado State 40 +2 COLOST COLOST
2009 New Mexico Bowl Wyoming 35 Fresno State 28 -10.5 WYOM WYOM
2010 New Mexico Bowl Texas El Paso 24 BYU 52 -10.5 BYU BYU
2011 New Mexico Bowl Temple 37 Wyoming 15 +7 TEMPLE TEMPLE
2012 New Mexico Bowl Arizona 49 Nevada 48 +8 NEVADA ARIZONA
2013 New Mexico Bowl Colorado State 48 Washington State 45 -4.5 CSU CSU
2014 New Mexico Bowl UTEP 6 Utah State 21 -10 UTAHST UTAHST
2015 New Mexico Bowl Arizona 45 New Mexico 37 +12 NEWMEX ARIZONA
2016 New Mexico Bowl UTSA 20 New Mexico 23 -9.5 UTSA NEWMEX
2017 New Mexico Bowl Marshall 31 Colorado State 28 -3.5 Marshall Marshall
2018 New Mexico Bowl Utah State 13 North Texas 52 -7 North Texas North Texas