Our Top Sportsbooks
Odds Shark Top Sportsbooks
*Terms and Conditions apply to all bonus offers on this website. Visit operator for details.

New Orleans Bowl Betting History

The city of New Orleans was already home to one college football bowl game, and the state of Louisiana to another. But they both added one more back in 2001 with the advent of the New Orleans Bowl, played every December at the Superdome.

The New Orleans Bowl now usually matches teams from Conference USA and the Sun Belt, but exceptions have been made. Colorado State won the inaugural New Orleans Bowl, knocking off North Texas 45-20. The Mean Green went on to play in the first four New Orleans Bowls, although they only won one of them.

Southern Miss became the first team to win back-to-back New Orleans Bowls, beating North Texas 31-10 in 2004 and Arkansas State 31-19 in ’05.

That 2005 New Orleans Bowl took place at Cajun Field on the University of Louisiana-Lafayette campus because of damage done to the Superdome during hurricane Katrina.

In 2007 legendary head coach Howard Schnellenberger led his Florida Atlantic Owls to a 44-27 New Orleans Bowl victory over Memphis.

More recently those Ragin’ Cajuns of Louisiana-Lafayette became the kings of the New Orleans Bowl, winning it four times in a row from 2011 to 2014. First they beat San Diego State 32-30 on a field goal at the buzzer. Then they defeated East Carolina 43-34. Next, UL-Lafayette tipped in-state rival Tulane 24-21 in front of a New Orleans Bowl-record crowd of almost 55,000. And finally the Cajuns beat Nevada 16-3. UL-Lafayette returned to the New Orleans Bowl in 2016, but lost to Southern Miss 28-21.

There must be something to that Cajun home cooking, considering teams from the host state went 5-1 both straight up and against the spread in the game from 2011 to 2016.

This year’s New Orleans Bowl features a matchup between the Middle Tennessee Blue Raiders and the Appalachian State Mountaineers. For odds, a free pick and handicapping information, check out our New Orleans Bowl Game Center.

New Orleans Bowl History
YearBowlTeamScoreTeamScoreSpreadATS WinnerSU Winner
2001New Orleans BowlColorado State45North Texas20-10.5COLOSTCOLOST
2002New Orleans BowlCincinnati19North Texas24+7.5NTEXASNTEXAS
2003New Orleans BowlMemphis27North Texas17+3MEMPHSMEMPHS
2004New Orleans BowlSouthern Miss31North Texas10+6S.MISSS.MISS
2005New Orleans BowlArkansas State19Southern Miss31-15ARK.STS.MISS
2006New Orleans BowlTroy41Rice17-5.5TROYTROY
2007New Orleans BowlFlorida Atlantic44Memphis27+3FLAATLFLAATL
2008New Orleans BowlTroy27Southern Miss30+5S.MISSS.MISS
2009New Orleans BowlMiddle Tennessee42Southern Miss32-4MIDTENMIDTEN
2010New Orleans BowlOhio21Troy48-2TROYTROY
2011New Orleans BowlLouisiana-Lafayette32San Diego State30-6UL.LAFUL.LAF
2012New Orleans BowlEast Carolina34Louisiana-Lafayette43-6.5UL.LAFUL.LAF
2013New Orleans BowlTulane21Louisiana-Lafayette24-2.5UL.LAFUL.LAF
2014New Orleans BowlNevada3Louisiana-Lafayette16+2UL.LAFUL.LAF
2015New Orleans BowlArkansas State28Louisiana Tech47-1Louisiana TechLouisiana Tech
2016New Orleans BowlSouthern Miss28Louisiana-Lafayette21+6Southern MissSouthern Miss
2017New Orleans BowlTroy50North Texas30+5.5TroyTroy
2018New Orleans BowlMiddle Tenn13Appalachian State45-6.5Appalachian StateAppalachian State