TaxSlayer Gator Bowl Betting History

What originally started in 1946 as the Gator Bowl is now known as the TaxSlayer Gator Bowl. The college bowl game is played annually in Florida and is the sixth oldest of all the college bowl games. It’s no coincidence that schools from Florida typically play in the game, as Florida, Clemson and Florida State rank near the top of the list for most appearances in the game.

Prior to being played at EverBank Field in Jacksonville, the game was played at Gator Bowl Stadium from 1946 to 1993, and was played once in 1994 at Ben Hill Griffin Stadium. The inaugural game in this college bowl series saw Wake Forest defeat South Carolina 26-14.

The TaxSlayer Bowl has a history of one-sided games, as from 1991 to 2015, 18 of the games were decided by double digits. This is a trend that carried over from the early days of the bowl game, as 13 of the games from 1946 to 1965 were decided by 10 points or more. Surprisingly, though, the game didn’t see one double-digit spread between 1995 and 2016.

Many standout players have played in the TaxSlayer Bowl over the years, including Archie Manning, Earl Campbell, Thurman Thomas, Donovan McNabb, Michael Vick, Philip Rivers and Calvin Johnson. All were named MVP of the games they competed in.

This year’s TaxSlayer Gator Bowl features the North Carolina State Wolfpack and the Texas A&M Aggies. For the latest odds, a free pick and handicapping information, visit our TaxSlayer Gator Bowl Game Center

TaxSlayer GAtor Bowl History
Year Bowl Team Score Team Score Spread ATS Sportsbook SU Sportsbook
1995 Gator Bowl Syracuse 41 Clemson 0 -2 SYRACU SYRACU
1996 Gator Bowl North Carolina 20 West Virginia 13 +6 UNC UNC
1997 Gator Bowl Virginia Tech 3 North Carolina 42 -9 UNC UNC
1998 Gator Bowl Georgia Tech 35 Notre Dame 28 +2.5 GATECH GATECH
1999 Gator Bowl Miami 28 Georgia Tech 13 -4.5 MIAMI MIAMI
2000 Gator Bowl Clemson 20 Virginia Tech 41 -6.5 VTECH VTECH
2001 Gator Bowl Virginia Tech 17 Florida State 30 Ev FLAST FLAST
2002 Gator Bowl North Carolina State 28 Notre Dame 6 +2 N.C.ST N.C.ST
2003 Gator Bowl West Virginia 7 Maryland 41 -4.5 MARYL MARYL
2004 Gator Bowl West Virginia 18 Florida State 30 -9.5 FLAST FLAST
2005 Gator Bowl Louisville 24 Virginia Tech 35 -9.5 VTECH VTECH
2006 Gator Bowl Georgia Tech 35 West Virginia 38 -9 GATECH WESTV
2007 Gator Bowl Texas Tech 31 Virginia 28 +6.5 VIRGNA TXTECH
2008 Gator Bowl Clemson 21 Nebraska 26 -1 NEBR NEBR
2009 Gator Bowl Florida State 33 West Virginia 21 -2.5 FLAST FLAST
2010 Gator Bowl Michigan 14 Mississippi State 52 -3 MIS.ST MIS.ST
2011 Gator Bowl Florida 24 Ohio State 17 +2.5 FLA FLA
2012 Gator Bowl Northwestern 34 Mississippi State 20 -1 NWEST NWEST
2013 Gator Bowl Georgia 19 Nebraska 24 +8.5 NEB NEB
2014 TaxSlayer Bowl Iowa 28 Tennessee 45 -3 TENN TENN
2015 TaxSlayer Bowl Georgia 24 Penn State 17 +6.5 GEORGIA GEORGIA
2016 TaxSlayer Bowl Georgia Tech 33 Kentucky 18 +3 GATECH GATECH
2017 TaxSlayer Bowl Louisville 27 Mississippi State 31 +6.5 MISS ST MISS ST
2018 TaxSlayer Gator Bowl NC State 13 Texas A&M 52 -7.5 Texas A&M Texas A&M