Odds Shark Top Sportsbooks
*Terms and Conditions apply to all bonus offers on this website. Visit operator for details.

Garrett Headlines NFL Coach of the Year Award Odds

As the 2016 NFL campaign draws to a close, the competition for the NFL Coach of the Year Award has become a one-horse race according to oddsmakers.

Dallas Cowboys head coach Jason Garrett is the -200 favorite at Bovada, which shouldn’t come as much of a surprise if you saw the ’Boys in action this year. Dallas (13-2) is tied with the New England Patriots for the best record in the NFL heading into Week 17, and the two-headed monster of rookies Dak Prescott and Ezekiel Elliott has Cowboys fans feeling like a sixth Super Bowl title is a realistic expectation in Big D.

Dan Quinn (+400), Andy Reid (+750), Jack Del Rio (+750), Bill Belichick (+750) and Adam Gase (+1200) are the other options on the board.

The Patriots have been so good in the Tom Brady era that these types of seasons have become expected, so Belichick may be in tough to capture the hardware considering the surprising years other teams have had. It’s a little unfair, but something tells me the notoriously stoic Belichick couldn’t care less about individual awards.

Del Rio is my top dark horse pick. The bench boss has done wonders in just his second year in Oakland, as the Raiders are about to play in the postseason for the first time since losing to Tampa Bay in the Super Bowl in 2002. Derek Carr’s recent leg injury was a major blow to the franchise due to its awful timing, but Del Rio shouldn’t be overlooked in this regard.

Who are you putting your money on? Let us know in the comments.

Who will win the 2016 NFL Coach of the Year Award?
  • Jason Garrett - Dallas -200
  • Dan Quinn - Atlanta +400
  • Andy Reid - Kansas City +750
  • Jack Del Rio - Oakland +750
  • Bill Belichick - New England +750
  • Adam Gase - Miami +1200
Odds as of December 28 at Bovada

Archived Articles

The 2016 NFL season is almost here, and one online sportsbook is getting ready for the action on the gridiron by offering odds on which bench boss will be named the coach of the year.

At BetOnline, Bruce Arians is a +600 favorite to win the 2016 NFL Coach of the Year Award. Mike Zimmer (+650), Bill Belichick (+700), Ron Rivera (+800), Mike McCarthy (+1000), Pete Carroll (+1200), Mike Tomlin (+1200), Andy Reid (+1200), Marvin Lewis (+1400) and Gus Bradley (+1600) round out the top 10 at the shop.

It’s pretty unsurprising to see Arians at the top of the list. Since coming to the Arizona Cardinals in 2013, the coach has amassed a 34-14 regular season record while making the playoffs in each season. Arians’ Cards went all the way to the NFC Championship Game last year before eventually falling to Cam Newton and the Super Bowl-bound Carolina Panthers.

Mike Zimmer may not be a household name, but his Minnesota Vikings are a team on the rise. Zimmer, who replaced Leslie Frazier in 2014, guided a vastly-improved club in 2015. The Vikes won the NFC North thanks to an 11-5 record – a huge upgrade over the 7-9 squad that missed the postseason altogether in Frazier’s first year.

No matter what your opinion is about the New England Patriots, you cannot criticize Bill Belichick’s success. Belichick is entering his 18th year at the helm of the Pats, and his 187-69 regular season record with the franchise speaks for itself. The Patriots are always in the mix come playoff time, so a shot on their coach at +700 odds seems like a safe choice.

As far as long shot value goes, I have my eye on two coaches: Gus Bradley (+1600) and Jack Del Rio (+1800). Bradley hasn’t had much success in Jacksonville, but the Jaguars are no longer the laughing stock of the NFL. The Jags have a dynamic young offense and greatly boosted their defensive core through the NFL Draft and free agency, meaning a playoff berth for the downtrodden franchise could translate to some hardware for Bradley.

Del Rio has only been in Oakland for one year, but his impact has already been felt in the Bay Area. The Raiders were much better than their 7-9 record looked on paper in 2015, and I firmly believe they’ll reach the playoffs for the first time since 2002.

Here’s a look at the book’s full list of odds. Who are you putting your money on?

Who will win the 2016 NFL Coach of the Year Award?
  • Bruce Arians +600
  • Mike Zimmer +650
  • Bill Belichick +700
  • Ron Rivera +800
  • Mike McCarthy +1000
  • Pete Carroll +1200
  • Mike Tomlin +1200
  • Andy Reid +1200
  • Marvin Lewis +1400
  • Gus Bradley +1600
  • Jack Del Rio +1600
  • Todd Bowles +2200
  • Jason Garrett +2500
  • Gary Kubiak +2800
  • John Harbaugh +3000
  • Chuck Pagano +3500
  • Doug Pederson +3500
  • Sean Payton +3800
  • Adam Gase +4500
  • Bill O'Brien +4500
  • John Fox +4500
  • Chip Kelly +4500
  • Ben McAdoo +6000
  • Jay Gruden +6500
  • Rex Ryan +6500
  • Dirk Koetter +7000
  • Hue Jackson +7000
  • Jeff Fisher +7500
  • Dan Quinn +7500
  • Jim Caldwell +7500
  • Mike McCoy +9000
  • Mike Mularkey +9000
Odds as of August 22 at BetOnline