Odds Shark Top Sportsbooks
*Terms and Conditions apply to all bonus offers on this website. Visit operator for details.

Do Teams Play Better With A New Coach?

Since 2000 there have been 29 coaches fired mid-season, plus one mid-season resignation (Bobby Petrino), with teams amassing a collective 10-19 SU and 12-17 ATS record in the game following a head coach's departure. However, the returns for teams have been far superior in recent memory.

The past 15 teams to fire their coach mid-season, dating back to the Buffalo Bills in 2009, have posted a 10-5 ATS record for bettors in the following game. 

Team's Performance Following Coach Firing
TeamOld CoachNew CoachSUATSO/U
2000 Washington RedskinsNorv TurnerTerry RobiskieLLOver
2000 Detroit LionsBobby RossGary MoellerWLUnder
2000 Arizona CardinalsVince TobinDave McGinnisLLUnder
2000 Cincinnati BengalsBruce CosletDick LeBeauLLOver
2001 Minnesota VikingsDennis GreenMike TiceLLUnder
2003 Atlanta FalconsDan ReevesWade PhillipsLLUnder
2004 Miami DolphinsDave WannstedtJim BatesLWOver
2004 Cleveland BrownsButch DavisTerry RobiskieLLOver
2005 St. Louis RamsMike MartzJoe VittLLOver
2005 Detroit LionsSteve MariucciDick JauronLLUnder
2007 Atlanta FalconsBobby PetrinoEmmitt ThomasLLOver
2008 St. Louis RamsScott LinehanJim HaslettWWUnder
2008 Oakland RaidersLane KiffinTom CableLLUnder
2008 San Francisco 49ersMike NolanMike SingletaryLLOver
2009 Buffalo BillsDick JauronPerry FewellLWUnder
2010 Minnesota VikingsBrad ChildressLeslie FrazierWWUnder
2010 Dallas CowboysWade PhillipsJason GarrettWWOver
2010 Denver BroncosJosh McDanielsEric StudesvilleLLOver
2010 San Francisco 49ersMike SingletaryJim TomsulaWWOver
2011 Jacksonville JaguarsJack Del RioMel TuckerLLOver
2011 Miami DolphinsTony SparanoTodd BowlesWWOver
2011 Kansas City ChiefsTodd HaleyRomeo CrennelWWUnder
2013 Houston TexansGary KubiakWade PhillipsLLUnder
2014 Oakland RaidersDennis AllenTony SparanoLWOver
2015 Miami DolphinsJoe PhilbinDan CampbellWWOver
2015 Tennessee TitansKen WhisenhuntMike MularkeyWWOver
2016 Los Angeles RamsJeff FisherJohn FasselLLUnder
2016 Jacksonville JaguarsGus BradleyDoug MarroneWWOver
2016 Buffalo BillsRex RyanAnthony LynnLLUnder