Super Bowl 24

Looking for up-to-date Super Bowl betting history? Check out Odds Shark's Super Bowl Betting History page.

San Francisco's Joe Montana solidified his standing as the greatest quarterback in Super Bowl history, throwing five touchdown passes, three to Jerry Rice, in leading the 49ers to a 55-10 romp over the Denver Broncos at the Superdome in New Orleans in Super Bowl XXIV.

The Niners cruised to a cover of the spread as 12-point favorites, and the most lopsided Super Bowl in history played OVER its total of 48.

The victory gave the 49ers a fourth Super Bowl title, their first under head coach George Seifert, tying  the Pittsburgh Steelers for the most Lombardi Trophies.

The Broncos, on the other hand, suffered their fourth Super Bowl defeat without a victory, tying the Minnesota Vikings for the ultimate in Super Bowl futility.

San Francisco wasted little time in putting this one away, scoring on their first possession on a Montana-to-Rice 20-yard strike. Denver then kicked a field goal to get within 7-3, but that was as close as the Broncos got all day.

The 49ers stretched their lead to 13-3 on a Montana-to-Brent Jones score, to 20-3 on a short Tom Rathman run, and to 27-3 on another Montana-to-Rice hookup.

After halftime Montana hit Rice for another touchdown, then connected with John Taylor from 35 yards out to give San Francisco a 41-3 lead. Denver quarterback John Elway scored on a three-yard run for the Broncos' only touchdown of the day, and the Niners then performed the coup-de-grace by tacking on two scores in the fourth quarter.

For the game San Francisco outgained Denver 461-167, held the ball for almost 40 minutes and won the turnover battle 4-0.

The 49ers finished the season with a record of 17-2, and their two losses came by a total of five points. During the playoffs San Francisco outscored its three opponents 126-26.

Montana was named the game's MVP for the third time, becoming and remaining the only player to win three Super Bowl MVP awards.

The San Francisco victory gave the NFC six straight Super Bowl wins; that streak would eventually reach 13.

Denver would not return to the Super Bowl for another eight seasons, but when they did, they won back-to-back Super Bowl titles, beating the Packers and Falcons.