Super Bowl 28

Looking for up-to-date Super Bowl betting history? Check out Odds Shark's Super Bowl Betting History page.

The Dallas Cowboys became the fourth team to win back-to-back Super Bowls, and the first to do it by beating the same team both times, when they defeated the Buffalo Bills 30-13 at the Georgia Dome in Atlanta in Super Bowl XXVIII.

For Dallas, it was a fourth Super Bowl title, tying the Pittsburgh Steelers and San Francisco 49ers for the most Lombardi Trophies.

For Buffalo, it was a fourth consecutive Super Bowl loss.

The Cowboys covered the Super Bowl XXVIII spread as 10-point favorites, and the game played UNDER its total of 50.

Dallas began the season by losing its first two games, as running back Emmitt Smith sat out a contract dispute. But with Smith back in the saddle the Cowboys won 12 of their last 14 games, then dispatched Green Bay and San Francisco in the playoffs to win their second straight NFC title.

Buffalo also went 12-4 during the regular season, then defeated the Los Angeles Raiders and the Kansas City Chiefs to win its fourth straight AFC title.

The Bills actually led this Super Bowl at the half 13-6, thanks in part to a roughing-the-kicker penalty that led to a Buffalo touchdown. But the game turned early in the third quarter when Bills running back Thurman Thomas fumbled and Dallas defensive back James Washington returned it 46 yards for a score, forging a 13-13 tie.

Shortly after that the Cowboys offense – mainly Smith – drove 64 yards for the score that put them ahead for good. Later, in the fourth quarter, Smith scored on a fourth-and-goal from the Buffalo one-yard line, giving Dallas a 27-13 lead. Kicker Eddie Murray provided the final tally with a late field goal, and the Cowboys walked off the field with a 30-13 victory.

For the game Buffalo only got outgained 341-314, but turnovers did the Bills in again, as they gifted the ball to Dallas five times.

Smith, who ended with 132 yards on 30 carries and two touchdowns, was named the game's MVP, just the sixth time through the first 28 Super Bowls a running back won the award.

The Dallas victory gave the NFC an amazing 10 consecutive Super Bowl victories.

Buffalo, meanwhile, has yet to return to the Super Bowl following its four straight losses.