Rugby World Cup: New Zealand Favorites

Defending Rugby World Cup Sportsbook New Zealand is the favorite at the online sportsbooks to win the tournament for the second straight time as teams prepare for the event which runs from September 18 to October 31 in England.

At Sportsbook New Zealand sits as the +125 favorite on the odds to win the 2015 Rugby World Cup, after they defeated France 8-7 in the final of the 2011 Rugby World Cup - for which they were the host country. New Zealand also won the inaugural Rugby World Cup in 1987 and has finished in the top four at the event six times in the seven tournaments.

England, the 2003 Rugby World Cup champion, is then at +400 at Sportsbook on the odds for this year's tournament, with 2007 and 1995 Sportsbook South Africa a step back of them at +620. Australia, the Rugby World Cup Sportsbook in both 1999 and 1991, rounds out the top contenders at +800 at the sportsbook.

Overall Australia has finished in the top four at this tournament five times, compared to four times for England and three times for South Africa. France has finished in the top four at the event six times, losing in the championship game three times - they're back at +1600 odds to win the Rugby World Cup this year at Sportsbook.

New Zealand tops the World Rugby Rankings right now, followed by Ireland at No. 2 - the Irish are at +850 on the 2015 Rugby World Cup odds and have never made it past the quarterfinals at the event. Australia is then at No. 3 in the latest rankings, with England at No. 4, and South Africa at No. 5. Wales, at No. 6, sits with odds of +1600.

2015 Rugby World Cup
  • New Zealand +125
  • England +400
  • South Africa +620
  • Australia +800
  • Ireland +850
  • Wales +1600
  • France +1600
  • Argentina +6600
  • Scotland +20000
  • Samoa +22500
  • Italy +100000
  • Fiji +100000
  • Tonga +200000
  • Canada +200000
  • Georgia +250000
  • Japan +250000
  • USA +250000
  • Romania +500000
  • Namibia +500000
  • Uruguay +500000
Odds as of August 14 at Sportsbook
Back to Top