Odds Shark Top Poker Sites

Jack Sinclair Strikes Back in WSOP Europe Main Event, Wins $1.29 Million

Jack Sinclair

It’s not very often you get another crack at a World Series of Poker Main Event final table but that’s essentially what English poker pro Jack Sinclair got this weekend and he didn’t waste the opportunity.

Sinclair, who finished eighth in the 2017 WSOP Main Event in Las Vegas, overcame a field of 534 players to win the €10,350 buy-in World Series of Poker Europe Main Event for $1.29 million at King’s Casino in Rozvadov this weekend.

The WSOP Europe Main Event is considerably smaller than the Vegas edition (Sinclair won $1.2 million for coming eighth in Vegas in 2017) but it still rewards a WSOP gold bracelet. It’s Sinclair’s first bracelet and it brings him to a lifetime career total of $3.39 million.

The final table also included 2013 Main Event champ Ryan Riess and German high-stakes poker pro Koray Aldemir.

Riess Misses Out on Main Event Double

While Jack Sinclair got to experience the WSOP Main Event in 2017, he ultimately fell short to Scott Blumstein, who went on to win the entire tournament for $8.1 million.

That wasn’t the case for Ryan Riess, who won it all for $8.3 million in 2013. Riess had the chance to become both North American and European Main Event champ, which would have put him in very exclusive company.

Unfortunately for the American, he had the misfortune of shoving pocket sevens into an opponent’s pocket aces and ended up hitting the rail in fourth place for $388,445.

To this day, Phil Hellmuth is the only player who’s been able to win the WSOP Main Event in Las Vegas in addition to the European edition.

Hellmuth won the 1989 WSOP Main Event in Vegas and added a WSOPE Main Event title in Cannes, France, in 2012. Hellmuth had a slight advantage, however, in that his Main Event title in Vegas came in a field of just 178, which is a far cry from the modern tournament, which always attracts 5,000-plus players.

Here’s a complete look at the payouts from the final table of this year’s WSOPE Main Event:

1Jack SinclairEngland$1,290,575
2Lazlo BujtasHungary$790,673
3Krasimir YankovBulgaria$547,232
4Ryan RiessUnited States$385,067
5Milos SkrbicSerbia$275,559
6Ihor YerofieievUkraine$200,600
7Koray AldemirGermany$148,327
8Bulcsu LukacsBelgium$111,842

Best WSOPE Main Event Numbers Since 2011

The WSOPE has always been somewhat of an odd duck on the international poker schedule.

The series started in 2007 as the first international expansion for the vaunted World Series of Poker brand, which is owned by Caesars Entertainment.

Since it began, the series has meandered around Europe with stops in London, Cannes, the outskirts of Paris and Berlin.

It also produced some memorable winners over the years with John Juanda, Phil Hellmuth and Adrian Mateos all taking Main Event titles.

The most memorable winner, however, came in the series’ very first year of existence when Norwegian poker pro Annette Obrestad, who was 18 at the time, outlasted 362 entries to become the first European WSOP Main Event champion. She remains the youngest WSOP winner in history.

Last year, Caesars announced a new deal that will see the WSOPE parked at King’s Casino in Rozvadov, Czech Republic, for the near future with no end date set.

King’s Casino has been a trendsetter in Europe with some of the biggest tournaments held over the last few years. So far it’s been a positive move for the series with solid numbers both this year and last.

This year’s 534 entries in the Main Event was actually the most since 2011 when Elio Fox defeated Chris Moorman to win €1.4 million in Cannes.

Here’s a look at every winner from the WSOPE Main Event over the years (*WSOPE skipped 2016, 2014):

2018Jack Sinclair534Rozvadov€1,122,239
2017Marti Roca de Torres529Rozvadov€1,115,207
2015Kevin MacPhee313Berlin€883,000
2013Adrian Mateos375Enghien-les-Bains€1,000,000
2012Phil Hellmuth420Cannes€1,058,403
2011Elio Fox593Cannes€1,400,000
2010James Bord346London£830,401
2009Barry Shulman334London£801,603
2008John Juanda362London£868,800
2007Annette Obrestad362London£1,000,000