Dollar General Bowl

Dollar General Bowl Betting History

Held annually in Mobile, Alabama, since 1999, the Dollar General Bowl was originally conceived as a vehicle for the Mid-American Conference (MAC)

In a clever bit of marketing work, the game was sponsored by General Motors Acceptance Corporation as the GMAC Bowl between 2000 and 2010. From there, sponsorship was transferred to (2011-2015), before shifting to discount store Dollar General.

Interestingly, despite being held at Ladd-Peebles Stadium in Mobile – home of the South Alabama Jaguars – the Dollar General Bowl involved representatives from the MAC and Conference USA through 2009. The only in-state team to play in either conference is the University of Alabama at Birmingham, which never managed to reach the game.

In fact, it took a scheduling snafu in 2010 to bring the Sun Belt Conference into the mix, as champion Troy lost a 44-41 overtime heartbreaker to Central Michigan. That game was a push with CMU favored by 3, but Troy also represented Alabama in 2016, finally getting the home state on the board with a 28-23 win over Ohio as 3.5-point favorites.

Owing to the parity across the MAC, Conference USA and the Sun Belt Conference over the years, bettors have only seen a single double-digit spread – when Miami of Ohio upset Louisville 49-28 as 13-point underdogs in 2003.

Underdogs were outright Sportsbooks three times between 2009 and 2016, including Georgia Southern’s 58-27 romp over Bowling Green in 2015 against a 4.5-point number, and Arkansas State downing Ball State 23-20 while laying 6.5 points a year earlier.

This year’s Dollar General Bowl will see the Buffalo Bulls take on the Troy Trojans. For the latest odds, a free pick and handicapping information, visit our Dollar General Bowl Game Center

Year Bowl Team Score Team Score Spread ATS Sportsbook SU Sportsbook
1999 Mobile Alabama Bowl TCU 28 East Carolina 14 -5.5 TCU TCU
2000 Mobile Alabama Bowl TCU 21 Southern Miss 28 +7 S.MISS S.MISS
2001 GMAC Bowl Marshall 64 East Carolina 61 -2 MARSHL MARSHL
2002 GMAC Bowl Marshall 38 Louisville 15 +2.5 MARSHL MARSHL
2003 GMAC Bowl Miami (Ohio) 49 Louisville 28 +13 MIA.OH MIA.OH
2004 GMAC Bowl Memphis 35 Bowling Green 52 -6 BGREEN BGREEN
2005 GMAC Bowl Texas El Paso 13 Toledo 45 -3 TOLEDO TOLEDO
2006 GMAC Bowl Ohio 7 Southern Miss 28 -6.5 S.MISS S.MISS
2007 GMAC Bowl Bowling Green 7 Tulsa 63 -5.5 TULSA TULSA
2008 GMAC Bowl Ball State 13 Tulsa 45 -2.5 TULSA TULSA
2009 GMAC Bowl Troy 41 Central Michigan 44 -3 Push CMICH
2010 Bowl Middle Tennessee 21 Miami (Ohio) 35 +2 MIA.OH MIA.OH
2011 Bowl Arkansas State 20 Northern Illinois 38 Ev N.ILL N.ILL
2012 Bowl Arkansas State 17 Kent State 13 +2 ARKST ARKST
2013 Bowl Ball State 20 Arkansas State 23 +6.5 ARKST ARKST
2014 GoDaddy Bowl Toledo 63 Arkansas State 44 +3 TOLEDO TOLEDO
2015 GoDaddy Bowl Georgia Southern 58 Bowling Green 27 -4.5 Ga.Southern Ga.Southern
2016 Dollar General Bowl Ohio 23 Troy 28 -6 Ohio Troy
2017 Dollar General Bowl Appalachian State 34 Toledo 0 -6.5 Appalachian State Appalachian State
2018 Dollar General Bowl Buffalo 32 Troy 42 +2.5 Troy Troy