Our Top Sportsbooks
Odds Shark Top Sportsbooks
*Terms and Conditions apply to all bonus offers on this website. Visit operator for details.

Independence Bowl Betting History

To cap the nationwide bicentennial celebrations in 1976, Americans were treated to a fitting upset in the inaugural Independence Bowl, as an injury-ravaged McNeese State squad scored late to tip Tulsa in a 20-16 thriller.

The game has been played at Independence Stadium in Shreveport, Louisiana, every year since, but it became a regional attraction in 1995 by affiliating with the Southeast Conference. That year, home state Louisiana State University dismantled Michigan State in a 45-26 rout, easily covering a 6-point spread in front of 48,835 fans – the largest Independence Bowl crowd to date at the time.

Between 1998 and 2009, the SEC played a Big 12 team, leading to several memorable showdowns. In 2000, when a freak storm created blizzard conditions, Mississippi State outlasted Texas A&M as a 1-point underdog in a 43-41 shootout known as the “Snow Bowl.” And in 2007, in a sign of things to come, new head coach Nick Saban led Alabama to a 30-24 win over Colorado to cover as a 4.5-point favorite.

That game started a streak of five straight covers for favorites, but over the next five-year period (2012-2016), two underdogs managed to win outright. Ohio (+6.5) walloped Louisiana-Monroe 45-14 in 2012, and South Carolina (+3) nipped Miami 24-21 in 2014. Dogs also cashed in on Tulsa (+13.5) in 2015 – when the Golden Hurricane nearly outgunned Virginia Tech in a 55-52 track meet.

The Temple Owls will square off with the Duke Blue Devils in this year’s Independence Bowl. For the latest odds, a free pick and handicapping information, visit our Independence Bowl Game Center

Independence Bowl History
YearBowlTeamScoreTeamScoreSpreadATS WinnerSU Winner
1995Independence BowlMichigan State26LSU45-6LSULSU
1996Independence BowlArmy29Auburn32-9ARMYAUBRN
1997Independence BowlNotre Dame9LSU27-7LSULSU
1998Independence BowlMississippi35Texas Tech18-8.5MISSMISS
1999Independence BowlMississippi27Oklahoma25-4MISSMISS
2000Independence BowlMississippi State43Texas A&M41-1MIS.STMIS.ST
2001Independence BowlAlabama14Iowa State13+6.5IOWASTALAB
2002Independence BowlNebraska23Mississippi27+7MISSMISS
2003Independence BowlMissouri14Arkansas27-3ARKARK
2004Independence BowlMiami (Ohio)13Iowa State17+3IOWASTIOWAST
2005Independence BowlMissouri38South Carolina31-3.5MIZZOUMIZZOU
2006Independence BowlOklahoma State34Alabama31+2OKLASTOKLAST
2007Independence BowlColorado24Alabama30-4.5ALABALAB
2008Independence BowlNorthern Illinois10Louisiana Tech17-3LATECHLATECH
2009Independence BowlTexas A&M20Georgia44-6.5GEORGIGEORGI
2010Independence BowlGeorgia Tech7Air Force14-3AIRFORAIRFOR
2011Independence BowlNorth Carolina24Missouri41-4.5MIZZOUMIZZOU
2012Independence BowlOhio45La-Monroe14-6.5OHIOOHIO
2013AdvoCare V100Boston College19Arizona42-7.5ARZARZ
2014Independence BowlMiami21South Carolina24+3South CarolinaSouth Carolina
2015Independence BowlTulsa52Virginia Tech55-13.5TulsaVirginia Tech
2016Independence BowlNC State41Vanderbilt17+5.5NC StateNC State
2017Independence BowlSouthern Miss13Florida State42-11.5Florida StateFlorida State
2017Independence BowlTemple27Duke56+3.5DukeDuke