Our Top Sportsbooks
Odds Shark Top Sportsbooks
*Terms and Conditions apply to all bonus offers on this website. Visit operator for details.

Sugar Bowl Odds And Betting History

Sugar Bowl betting odds are here.

The Allstate Sugar Bowl causes a football betting frenzy every year due to its high stakes and ties to the SEC and Big 12 conferences. The game has been played in New Orleans since it began in 1935 with the exception of 2006 when it was temporarily moved to Atlanta in the aftermath of hurricane Katrina.

Sugar Bowl odds are as sweet as they are important for college football bettors. We give you info on how to handicap your Baylor vs Ole Miss betting picks.

2021 Sugar Bowl Odds

When Ole Miss takes on Baylor, oddsmakers are anticipating a close game with Ole Miss the -1.5 favorite. 

Check out our Sugar Bowl matchup page for more in-depth analysis on who we think we will win and which side to bet.

Baylor Bears vs Ole Miss Rebels by the numbers
TeamConferenceRecordATSATS FaveATS DogO/U TotalsAverage Score ForAverage Score Against
Baylor Big 1211-29-44-34-16-732.4619.15
Ole MissSEC10-29-36-13-23-935.2925.00

Sugar Bowl Betting Trends

Check out some Sugar Bowl betting trends and a look at how Ole Miss and Baylor have fared in recent bowl games:

Last 5 Seasons

Favorite SU: 3-2 (60.0%)
Favorite ATS: 3-2 (60.0%)
OVER record: 1-4 (20.0%)

Ole Miss

Ole Miss is 4-1 (80.0%) ATS in its last 5 bowl appearances
Ole Miss is 1-4 (20.0%) OVER in its last 5 bowl appearances
Ole Miss is 7-2-1 (77.8%) ATS in its last 10 bowl appearances
Ole Miss is 3-7 (30.0%) OVER in its last 10 bowl appearances

Baylor (9 bowl games played in our database)

Baylor is 3-2 (60.0%) ATS in its last 5 bowl appearances
Baylor is 3-2 (60.0%) OVER in its last 5 bowl appearances
Baylor is 5-4 (55.6%) ATS in its last 10 bowl appearances
Baylor is 5-4 (55.6%) OVER in its last 10 bowl appearances

Betting History of the Sugar Bowl

The Sugar Bowl has been played annually on New Year’s Day since 1935, except for the years when January 1 falls on a Sunday, which pushes the game to January 2. This college football bowl hosts one of the national semifinal games every three seasons. The two top teams from the SEC and Big 12 play in the Sugar Bowl in years that it isn’t accommodating a playoff.

Contrary to popular belief, the Sugar Bowl is not sponsored or owned by the sweet-tasting soluble carbohydrate that we all eat too much of. It is named as such because the first stadium to host the game was built on land that had once been home to a sugar plantation.

It is, however, sponsored by an insurance company (Allstate).

championship trophy shaped as a football

Bowl Season is here

Check out all of Odds Shark's exclusive betting content for every college bowl game!

Since it began, the Sugar Bowl has always had a tie to the SEC, with all but seven of the bowl’s all-time games featuring an SEC team. The SEC has a 40-37-1 record in 78 games. Another college football powerhouse conference, the Big 12, entered an agreement to send a team to the Sugar Bowl in non-playoff years in 2015. They hold a 4-4-0 record through eight appearances.

From 2011 to 2016, teams in the SEC got crushed like a bunch of cars in a junkyard, going 1-5 straight up (SU) in six games over that stretch, including outright losses by Florida as a 14.5-point favorite to Louisville in 2012 and Alabama as a 17-point fave to Oklahoma in 2013. There were at least 54 points scored in seven of the eight Sugar Bowls played after the 2009 to 2016 seasons.

Place Your Bowl Season Bets Now

The 2017 Sugar Bowl saw a third straight bowl game between Alabama (No. 4) and Clemson (No. 1). The teams had met in the previous two national championship games, with each taking a victory. The Crimson Tide had a perfect record up until their last regular-season game, when they lost to Auburn as a 5-point favorite. The Tigers’ lone blemish that season was being on the wrong end of one of the biggest upsets of the season, losing to Syracuse as a 23.5-point fave.

The final score of the bowl game was 24-6 for Nick Saban’s squad. The total was set at 47.0 and UNDER bettors were able to collect big time. Clemson did not cover the +3.5 spread (sad trombone noise).

January 1, 2019 – aka the 2018 season’s Sugar Bowl – saw the No. 15-ranked Texas Longhorns (9-4) facing off against the No. 5-ranked Georgia Bulldogs (11-2). Coming in with a 5-7-1 record against the spread (ATS), Matthew McConaughey’s college football team of choice beat Georgia 28-21. The total went UNDER the oddsmaker’s set number of 60 and even though the Bulldogs had an 8-5 ATS record, they couldn’t cover the +13.5 points they were given.

2020 Sugar Bowl

When Ohio State took on Clemson a year ago, oddsmakers predicted a relatively close contest between two juggernauts. 

Ohio State Buckeyes vs Clemson Tigers by the numbers
TeamConferenceRecordATSATS FaveATS DogO/U TotalsAverage Score ForAverage Score Against
Ohio StateBig Ten6-03-33-30-03-2-142.5021.00

How to Bet on the Sugar Bowl

Even those who are new to gambling can get in on some of that sweet Sugar Bowl wagering action. Before you get started, look to our NCAA Football pages for everything you need to make a smart college football bowl bet. You’ll find Sugar Bowl odds, free picks, team stats and more.

These are the main types of bets you can make on the Sugar Bowl:

• A popular wager is the moneyline bet where you only have to pick the winning team

• A totals bet (also called OVER/UNDER) requires you to forecast if the total combined score from both teams will be OVER or UNDER the number set by oddsmakers at the online sportsbooks

• To make a point spread bet you need to determine if the favorite or the underdog is going to win or lose by a set number of points

Props are bets made on individual players (how many touchdowns will the quarterback have, how many yards will a certain player have, etc.), and non-football things like which team will win the coin toss

Parlays give you the option to bundle multiple bets on one betting slip

Sugar Bowl Bites

• MVPs include Steve Spurrier, Peyton and Eli’s dad Archie Manning, Herschel Walker, Dan Marino, Jerome Bettis, Tim Tebow and Teddy Bridgewater.

• Alabama has the most appearances with 16, going 9-7.

• Former Sooner and Rose Bowl MVP Jack Mildren would go on to be the lieutenant- governor of Oklahoma, which is like being vice-president but not.

For updated betting lines and great props for all bowl games, head over to Bovada today.

Sugar Bowl History
YearBowlTeamScoreTeamScoreSpreadATS WinnerSU Winner
1995Sugar BowlVirginia Tech28Texas10-2VTECHVTECH
1996Sugar BowlFlorida52Florida State20+3FLAFLA
1997Sugar BowlOhio State14Florida State31-7FLASTFLAST
1998Sugar BowlOhio State24Texas A&M14+12TEXA&MOHIOST
1999Sugar BowlVirginia Tech29Florida State46-6FLASTFLAST
2000Sugar BowlMiami37Florida20+6MIAMIMIAMI
2001Sugar BowlIllinois34LSU47-2LSULSU
2002Sugar BowlGeorgia26Florida State13+7.5GEORGIGEORGI
2003Sugar BowlOklahoma14LSU21+6LSULSU
2004Sugar BowlVirginia Tech13Auburn16-6VTECHAUBRN
2005Sugar BowlWest Virginia38Georgia35-7WESTVWESTV
2006Sugar BowlNotre Dame14LSU41-8.5LSULSU
2007Sugar BowlHawaii10Georgia41-8GEORGIGEORGI
2008Sugar BowlUtah31Alabama17-9.5UTAHUTAH
2009Sugar BowlCincinnati24Florida51-12.5FLAFLA
2010Sugar BowlArkansas26Ohio State31-3OHIOSTOHIOST
2011Sugar BowlMichigan23Virginia Tech20+3PushMICH
2012Sugar BowlLouisville33Florida23-14.5LOUISLOUIS
2013Sugar BowlOklahoma45Alabama21-17OKLAOKLA
2014Sugar BowlOhio State42Alabama35-7.5Ohio StateOhio State
2015Sugar BowlOklahoma State20Mississippi48-7.5MississippiMississippi
2016Sugar BowlAuburn19Oklahoma35-2OKLAOKLA
2017Sugar BowlAlabama24Clemson6+3.5AlabamaAlabama
2018Sugar BowlTexas28Georgia21-13.5TexasTexas
2019Sugar BowlGeorgia26Baylor14-3.5GeorgiaGeorgia
2020Sugar BowlClemson28Ohio State49-7.5Ohio StateOhio State