Odds Shark Top Sportsbooks
*Terms and Conditions apply to all bonus offers on this website. Visit operator for details.

Odds to Win the NBA Western Conference: Lakers Have Slight Edge Over Clippers

NBA Western Conference Betting Odds February 8, 2020

The NBA is on the final stretch of the regular season and the Los Angeles Lakers remain the betting favorites to win the Western Conference and make the NBA Finals.

The Lakers sit at +125 to win the West according to online sportsbook Bovada and currently lead the conference standings at 45-12 SU through 57 games. Their Staples Center roommates, the Los Angeles Clippers, are six games back in the standings and sit at +180 to surpass them and get to the Finals for the first time in franchise history.

After the two teams from Los Angeles, it’s the Houston Rockets at +700, the Denver Nuggets at +850 and the Utah Jazz at +1400 to round out the top five betting options.

Clippers and Lakers On Collision Course

If there’s anything the basketball gods could do for us, it would be to have the Los Angeles Lakers and Los Angeles Clippers meet in the Western Conference final. The two teams from Hollywood have been nothing short of spectacular for the first half of the season.

The Lakers obviously shine with LeBron James at full strength and while his scoring numbers have dipped (25.5 points per game this season), he’s been dropping dimes and leads the NBA with 10.6 assists per game.

Life is much easier for the King this season with Anthony Davis running the floor and the Brow has anchored the Lake Show’s defense. He’s second in the NBA with 2.5 blocks per game and it’s not a coincidence that the purple and gold rank fifth in the league in points allowed per game.

But as electric as the Lakers have looked, they know the Clippers are no joke. The Clip Show may be 40-19 SU through 59 games but Kawhi Leonard looks as dominant as ever even though he’s nowhere to be found for back-to-back games.

Bettors may not enjoy the load management stuff for Kawhi but it’s actually helpful when taking the Clippers for this betting prop because you want Leonard to be at full strength for the playoffs.

What’s even more amazing about the Clippers is that they’ve been able to sustain this pace even though Paul George has missed 22 games so far this season. George, the Robin to Kawhi’s Batman, is averaging 21.1 points per game but it remains to be seen if he can stay healthy for a long postseason run.

If PG-13 and Kawhi are locked and loaded with a fully healthy Clippers roster, no team in the Western Conference is beating them in a seven-game series. It’s icing on the cake that they got to add PF/C Marcus Morris from the Knicks at the trade deadline to be able to throw another body at LeBron and get some run on the days when Kawhi or George needs to rest.

With a lot of basketball left to play, +180 may seem like risky odds, but when the postseason starts, those odds will plummet.

See the most up-to-date NBA championship odds here.

Odds To Win NBA Western Conference 2019-20
Los Angeles Lakers+125
Los Angeles Clippers+180
Houston Rockets+700
Denver Nuggets+850
Utah Jazz+1400
Dallas Mavericks+1800
New Orleans Pelicans+6600
Portland Trail Blazers+7500
Oklahoma City Thunder+8000
Memphis Grizzlies+15000
San Antonio Spurs+20000
Phoenix Suns+35000
Sacramento Kings+50000
Minnesota Timberwolves+250000
Golden State Warriors+250000

Odds as of February 29 at Bovada

What is a Basketball Prop Bet?

This is a bet on the occurrence or non-occurrence of specific player or team milestones that may not directly affect the outcome of a certain game. In this case, the prop is a bet on a team to win the Western Conference.

How to Understand NBA Western Conference Odds

At any betting site, you’ll notice prop odds displayed like so:

LA Clippers +500

Houston Rockets +850

Denver Nuggets +1200

Sacramento Kings +2500

For other betting types, you’ll see favorites indicated with minus signs (-) and underdogs with plus signs (+). When there are no minus signs, the team with the lowest odds is the fave, the rest are dogs. Here, it’s the Clippers.

If you were to lay down $100 on the Rockets, you’d get a payout of $950 – your original money is returned along with your winnings of $850. To see how much you’d win based on the odds and amount bet, check out our Odds Calculator.

When oddsmakers come up with the odds, they aren’t set in stone. They will change them as the season moves along and teams improve on the court or stumble their way into losses. If you see odds you like, take them ASAP to get optimal betting value if you win your wager.