NFL Defensive Player Of The Year Odds: Don't Doubt T.J. Watt

It may not be the sexiest award in football, but there are some big names at the top of the Defensive Player of the Year odds for 2024-25.

Defense wins Super Bowl championships and having the Defensive Player of the Year certainly helps the cause. With a breakdown of the favorites and some potential value picks, here are the current DPOY odds:

NFL Defensive Player Of The Year Odds For 2024-25

Odds To Win 2024 NFL DPOY
Micah Parsons+500
Myles Garrett+600
T.J. Watt+750
Nick Bosa+850
Maxx Crosby+1000
Aidan Hutchinson+1600
Chris Jones+2500
Josh Allen+2500
Will Anderson Jr. +3000
Danielle Hunter+3200

Myles Garrett beasted his way through the 2023-24 season, racking up 14 sacks, four forced fumbles, 30 QB hits, and 42 total tackles. It was a close vote for DPOY last season, but Garrett edged out TJ Watt and others.

But now, the DPOY favorite is Micah Parson. The Cowboys' edge rusher has been one of the best defensive players in the league the last few seasons, drawing an elite 92.7 overall PFF grade last season with 14 sacks, 36 solo tackles, and a forced fumble. He finished third in the Defensive Player of the Year voting last year (with seven first-place votes) and is favored to push up to first this season.

DPOY Value Pick: T.J. Watt

TJ Watt arguably should’ve won the DPOY Award last year, leading the NFL in sacks for the third time. He’s come top-three in DPOY voting each season he’s been healthy since 2019 and earned 19 first-place votes last season (just four fewer than Garrett).

I don't really get why Watt is third in these odds — I'd have him first. He forces fumbles, gets sacks, and is the anchor of a consistently great Steelers defense. Watt is the safest DPOY bet by far.

DPOY Value Pick: Will Anderson Jr.

Will Anderson 'only' had seven sacks in 15 games with no forced fumbles last year. But, I think he's got the potential to take a huge second-year leap.

On top of natural development, Anderson will now have Danielle Hunter lining up beside him and drawing away teams' primary blockers. This should give Anderson room to run and get to the QB. I'll be taking Anderson's sacks over and him as a flier to win 2024-25 DPOY.

Last 10 Defensive Player of the Year Winners 

Last 10 DPOY Winners
2023Myles GarrettCleveland BrownsDE
2022Nick BosaSan Francisco 49ersDE
2021T.J. WattPittsburgh SteelersLB
2020Aaron DonaldLos Angeles RamsDT
2019Stephon GilmoreNew England PatriotsCB
2018Aaron DonaldLos Angeles RamsDT
2017Aaron DonaldLos Angeles RamsDT
2016Khalil MackOakland Raiders*DE
2015J.J. WattHouston TexansDT
2014J.J. WattHouston TexansDT

*now the Las Vegas Raiders.

Our previous 10 DPOY winners have a few familiar faces… Donald and the J.J. Watt make up 50% of this list! With the older Watt and Dona'ds retirement in recent years, maybe T.J. can pick up the mantle.

Who Has Won the Most NFL DPOY Awards?

Multiple DPOY Award Winners
PlayerAwards WonPositionTeamWinning Seasons
Lawrence Taylor3LinebackerNew York Giants1981 - 1982, 1986
J.J. Watt3Defensive EndHouston Texans2012, 2014 - 2015
Aaron Donald3Defensive TackleLos Angeles Rams2017 - 2018, 2020
Joe Greene2Defensive TacklePittsburgh Steelers1972, 1974
Mike Singletary2LinebackerChicago Bears1985, 1988
Bruce Smith2Defensive EndBuffalo Bills1990, 1996
Reggie Smith2Defensive EndPhiladelphia Eagles / Green Bay Packers1987, 1998
Ray Lewis2LinebackerBaltimore Ravens2000, 2003

Where only two running backs have won three awards for Offensive Player of the Year, the DPOY award boasts three stalwart defenders in Donald, Watt, and Taylor. All three of these players earned the award in back-to-back seasons.

For all their accolades, none of these players brought their team to a Super Bowl in the same year they won DPOY.

NFL Teams With the Most DPOY Winners

NFL Teams with the most DPOY awards
TeamAwards WonMost Recent DPOY Winner
Pittsburgh Steelers8OLB - T.J. Watt (2021)
Baltimore Ravens4OLB - Terrell Suggs (2011)
New York Giants4DE - Michael Strahan (2001)
Houston Texans3DE - J.J. Watt (2015)
Tampa Bay Buccaneers3LB - Derrick Brooks (2002)
Buffalo Bills3DE - Bruce Smith (1996)
Miami Dolphins3DE - Jason Taylor (2006)
San Francisco 49ers3DE - Nick Bosa (2022)
Los Angeles Rams3DT - Aaron Donald (2020)
Chicago Bears3LB - Brian Urlacher (2005)

The Steelers don’t even make this close — their long-standing reputation as defensive juggernauts is well-earned, doubling the Ravens and Giants’ collection of DPOY award winners.

Teams That Have Never Had A DPOY

While the Steelers seemingly churn out DPOYs every season, there are several teams that have never had a player win the award:

Defensive Player of the Year Betting Trends and Notes

  • Four of the previous ten winners led the league in sacks during their DPOY season - Nick Bosa, Aaron Donald, and J.J. Watt (twice).
  • Out of the previous ten winners, Aaron Donald (2020) and J.J. Watt (2015) are the only two players to have favorited odds before the start of the season,
  • The five most recent DPOY winners represent the longest span the award has gone to a different player each year since J.J. Watt won his first award in 2012.
  • Players can still stand a chance at winning even if their team’s performance is subpar — four of the last nine winners played on a defense that was ranked lower than the top ten.
Back to Top