Odds Shark Top Sportsbooks
*Terms and Conditions apply to all bonus offers on this website. Visit operator for details.

NFL MVP Award Odds: Mahomes Is in a League of His Own

Kansas City Chiefs quarterback Patrick Mahomes (15) in game action during the Super Bowl LIV.

The regular-season NFL MVP Award has belonged to quarterbacks over the years, and that trend continued in 2019 when Lamar Jackson claimed the hardware.

According to the latest odds from sportsbooks, superstar QB Patrick Mahomes is the front-runner to become MVP in 2020.

2020 NFL Most Valuable Player Award Odds
Patrick Mahomes+450
Lamar Jackson+800
Dak Prescott+1200
Kyler Murray+1200
Russell Wilson+1200
Tom Brady+1200
Josh Allen (QB)+2000
Aaron Rodgers+2200
Cam Newton+2500
Carson Wentz+2500
Deshaun Watson+2500
Drew Brees+2500
Baker Mayfield+3300
Ben Roethlisberger+3300
Christian McCaffrey+3300
Drew Lock+3300
Matt Ryan+3300
Jimmy Garoppolo+4000
Philip Rivers+4000
Derrick Henry+5000
Jared Goff+5000
Jarrett Stidham+5000
Kirk Cousins+5000
Matthew Stafford+5000
Saquon Barkley+5000
Ezekiel Elliott+6000
Dalvin Cook+6600
Daniel Jones+6600
Joe Burrow+6600
Michael Thomas+6600
Nick Chubb+6600
Tua Tagovailoa+6600
Ryan Tannehill+8000
Sam Darnold+8000
Aaron Donald+10000

Odds as of July 9 at BetOnline

Mahomes is Primed for More Awards

Fresh off winning Super Bowl MVP after his Kansas City Chiefs beat the San Francisco 49ers in Super Bowl 54, Mahomes received a massive contract extension in the offseason to keep him in K.C. for the foreseeable future.

Mahomes, the 2018 NFL MVP, missed time in the middle of the 2019 campaign due to a kneecap injury and fell out of MVP contention as a result. The Chiefs committed to their superstar QB long term, signing Mahomes to a record-breaking 10-year deal worth up to $503 million. The contract is the largest in sports history.

Can Jackson Go Back to Back?

There were plenty of questions surrounding Jackson when he entered the 2018 NFL Draft, but the former Heisman Trophy winner answered all of those last year to become the 17th signal-caller since 2000 to become MVP. Marshall Faulk (2000, 2001), Shaun Alexander (2005), LaDainian Tomlinson (2006) and Adrian Peterson (2012) are the non-quarterbacks to win the award in that span.

Just how much of a surprise was Jackson’s triumphant 2019 campaign? The Louisville product opened the year as a +4100 long shot to garner the bragging rights as the best player in the NFL. He ended the season with 36 touchdowns and 3,127 passing yards while throwing only six interceptions.

More impressively, Jackson broke Michael Vick’s record for most rushing yards in a single season by a quarterback, finishing with 1,206 yards on the ground and seven scores.

The Baltimore Ravens came up short in the playoffs by losing to the upstart Tennessee Titans in the AFC divisional round, but Jackson is likely going to come back with a vengeance and is a very realistic threat to repeat as regular-season MVP.

Brady’s Move to Tampa Bay Has His Odds on the Move

Tom Brady’s decision to leave New England in favor of Tampa Bay has had ripple effects on the Super Bowl oddsboard, and his MVP odds are on the move as well. Brady was +2800 to become NFL MVP prior to announcing he was joining the Buccaneers, with his odds now sitting at +1200.

Brady will be surrounded by a plethora of offensive weapons in the Sunshine State and is in line to have a rebound campaign. Even at 43, he still has the talent to be in the MVP conversation when all is said and done in 2020.

Addition of Hopkins Boosts Murray’s Chances

The Arizona Cardinals’ acquisition of DeAndre Hopkins gives Murray a clear-cut No. 1 target and one of the top wide receivers in the NFL. As a result, Murray’s odds have lowered from +2000 to +1200 in light of the blockbuster trade.

Murray had a solid rookie season despite the Cardinals’ 5-10-1 record. Arizona looks like a team on the rise and could figure to be a surprise contender in the NFC West, so it makes sense to see sportsbooks give him this type of respect with a new playmaker at his disposal.

Don’t Forget About McCaffrey

If any non-QB is going to win the MVP in the coming years, there’s a good chance it’s Christian McCaffrey. The Carolina Panthers running back took the league by storm last year, collecting 15 rushing touchdowns and 1,387 yards on the ground to go along with 1,005 yards and four TDs through the air in just his third pro season.

He’s going to be in tough to pass some of the quarterbacks ahead of him on the oddsboard, but if anyone can do it, it’s McCaffrey. At +3300, he’s presenting significant value for his tremendous skill set.

For more football betting information, check out our NFL page. Here’s a look at the book’s full list of MVP odds:

How to Bet on NFL MVP Odds

Popular NFL bets include point spreads and totals (OVER/UNDER). For those looking for something different, you can wager on which player will be named MVP. As football season progresses, you’ll see the MVP action changing. To get in on the action, you can make a futures bet.

What is a Futures Bet?

A futures wager is a bet on events that will take place in time, like the Most Valuable Player award in the NFL. At your betting site of choice, you’ll see NFL MVP odds listed like so:

Dak Prescott +200

Tom Brady +250

Patrick Mahomes +400

Lamar Jackson +700

Unlike a moneyline bet where favorites would be marked with the minus sign (-) and underdogs with the plus sign (+), the fave here would be the player with the lowest odds. In this case it’s Dak Prescott.

Let’s say you have $55 to spend and you decide that you like Mahomes for MVP. A winning bet would give you a payout of $275 – your original $55 is returned along with your loot of $220. The higher the odds, the more money you’ll see. But, don’t bet on a +5000 MVP candidate in September in the hopes that you’ll make bank at the end of the regular season. Oddsmakers don’t only look at current performance when setting the odds. They also look at past performance, off-season activities and training camp.

Our Odds Calculator can show you how much you’d win based on the odds and amount wagered.

With futures bets, it’s important to snag odds early. As we get closer to the Super Bowl, the lines will move. Oddsmakers update the odds as players up their production or are plagued by injuries. Keep in mind that if you were to back a player in the MVP race and he suffers a season-ending injury, most sportsbooks will give you your money back since you technically didn’t lose the bet and have no way of winning it.

As soon as the Most Valuable Player trophy is awarded to the winner, sportsbooks will update the betting results and you can cash out your bet.