Odds Shark Top Sportsbooks
*Terms and Conditions apply to all bonus offers on this website. Visit operator for details.

NFL MVP Award Odds: Wilson Eclipses Mahomes to Become the New Favorite

NFL MVP Award Odds

For the first time this season, Patrick Mahomes is no longer the NFL MVP favorite. In his place, Russell Wilson has become the new front-runner to win the individual hardware.

Wilson is the +200 fave at BetOnline, with Patrick Mahomes (+250), Deshaun Watson (+800), Aaron Rodgers (+900), Christian McCaffrey (+900), Jimmy Garoppolo (+1200), Tom Brady (+1200), Lamar Jackson (+1800), Carson Wentz (+2000) and Dak Prescott (+2800) rounding out the list.

Is the MVP Award Wilson’s to Lose?

Wilson’s surge up the odds list has been impressive, as the veteran quarterback was +275 to become MVP prior to Seattle’s 32-28 Week 6 victory. Wilson ranks No. 1 in the NFL in passer rating, total touchdowns and game-winning drives while sitting second in completion percentage. The 30-year-old hasn’t thrown an interception – a major reason for Seattle’s 5-1 SU start.

The biggest mover on the board is Rodgers, who was available at +1200 a week ago. Even without his favorite target – the injured Davante Adams – Rodgers threw for two touchdowns and 283 yards in Green Bay’s 23-22 triumph over Detroit in Monday Night Football. With Adams close to a return, expect Rodgers’ numbers to improve going forward, but the two-time MVP has some work to do in order to catch Wilson, Mahomes and Watson.

Take a look at the shop’s full list of MVP odds. Who are you betting to win? Have your say in the comment section.

2019 NFL Most Valuable Player Award Odds
Russell Wilson+200
Patrick Mahomes+250
Deshaun Watson+800
Aaron Rodgers+900
Christian McCaffrey+900
Jimmy Garoppolo+1200
Tom Brady+1200
Lamar Jackson+1800
Carson Wentz+2000
Dak Prescott+2800

Odds as of October 16 at BetOnline

How to Bet on NFL MVP Odds

Popular NFL bets include point spreads and totals (OVER/UNDER). For those looking for something different, you can wager on which player will be named MVP. As football season progresses, you’ll see the MVP action changing. To get in on the action, you can make a futures bet.

What is a Futures Bet?

A futures wager is a bet on events that will take place in time, like the Most Valuable Player award in the NFL. At your betting site of choice, you’ll see NFL MVP odds listed like so:

Dak Prescott +200

Tom Brady +250

Patrick Mahomes +400

Lamar Jackson +700

Unlike a moneyline bet where favorites would be marked with the minus sign (-) and underdogs with the plus sign (+), the fave here would be the player with the lowest odds. In this case it’s Dak Prescott.

Let’s say you have $55 to spend and you decide that you like Mahomes for MVP. A winning bet would give you a payout of $275 – your original $55 is returned along with your loot of $220. The higher the odds, the more money you’ll see. But, don’t bet on a +5000 MVP candidate in September in the hopes that you’ll make bank at the end of the regular season. Oddsmakers don’t only look at current performance when setting the odds. They also look at past performance, off-season activities, and training camp.

Our Odds Calculator can show you how much you’d win based on the odds and amount wagered.

With futures bets, it’s important to snag odds early. The closer we get to the Super Bowl, the lines will move. Oddsmakers update the odds as players up their production or are plagued by injuries. Keep in mind that if you were to back a player in the MVP race and he suffers from a season-ending injury, most sportsbooks will give you your money back since you technically didn’t lose the bet and have no way of winning it.

As soon as the Most Valuable Player trophy is awarded to the winner, sportsbooks will update the betting results and you can cash out your bet.