Horse Racing

Triple Crown Betting: American Pharoah

With wins in the Kentucky Derby and the Preakness Stakes under their belts American Pharoah, jockey Victor Espinoza, and trainer Bob Baffert will now get their shot at horse racing's Triple Crown on Saturday in the Belmont Stakes at Belmont Park.

American Pharoah won the Kentucky Derby as the betting favorite at Churchill Downs back on May 2, racing past second-place finisher Firing Line and third-place finisher Dortmund for the victory in the first jewel of the Triple Crown. Frosted was fourth, Danzig Moon was fifth, and Materiality was sixth at the Kentucky Derby.

Then in the Preakness on May 16 American Pharoah had no trouble with a sloppy track, racing away from second-place finisher Tale of Verve and third-place finisher Divining Rod for that victory. Dortmund had to settle for a fourth-place result at the Preakness, while Firing Line was back in seventh place.

The last horse to win the Triple Crown was Affirmed in 1978, with Seattle Slew (1977) and Secretariat (1973) the only other Triple Crown Sportsbooks since the 1940s. Overall 11 horses have won the Triple Crown dating back to Sir Barton in 1919.

Sportsbook: Will American Pharoah win the Belmont Stakes?
  • Yes -130
  • No EVEN
Triple Crown Sportsbooks
  • 1978 Affirmed
  • 1977 Seattle Slew
  • 1973 Secretariat
  • 1948 Citation
  • 1946 Assault
  • 1943 Count Fleet
  • 1941 Whirlaway
  • 1937 War Admiral
  • 1935 Omaha
  • 1930 Gallant Fox
  • 1919 Sir Barton

Archived Articles

Once back at 10/1 to win horse racing’s Triple Crown, online sportsbooks lowered American Pharoah's odds after his impressive Kentucky Derby win at Churchill Downs.

Online sportsbook Sportsbook had the horse at 10/1 odds to win the Triple Crown a few months back, but rival sportsbook Sportsbook was first up with fresh odds after the Kentucky Derby and American Pharoah was listed at +250.

And the line for American Pharoah to win the Triple Crown has settled at +290 - that means a $100 bet would return $290 in profit. The ‘No’ side of that wager is priced at -350, meaning you need to wager $350 in order to turn a $100 profit.

No horse was won the Triple Crown since 1978, when Affirmed swept the Kentucky Derby, Preakness Stakes, and Belmont Stakes. In total 11 horses have won the Triple Crown, but the only ones who have done it since the 1940s have been Affirmed, Seattle Slew (1977), and Secretariat (1973).

As well, Sportsbook has American Pharoah listed at -125 against the field in odds to win the Preakness Stakes at Pimlico Race Course on May 16, and the horse is also listed at +220 odds to win the Preakness Stakes but not the Belmont Stakes.

2015 Triple Crown Betting Props at Sportsbook

Preakness Stakes - Sportsbook - Pimlico Race Course
  • American Pharoah wins Preakness Stakes -125
  • Field wins Preakness Stakes +105
Triple Crown Sportsbook 2015
  • American Pharoah wins Triple Crown +290
  • American Pharoah won't win Triple Crown -350
Amer. Pharoah wins Preakness, won't win Belmont
  • American Pharoah wins Preakness, not Belmont +220
  • Any other result -280
Amer. Pharoah wins Preakness, does not run in Belmont
  • American Pharoah wins Preakness, no Belmont +1000
  • Any other result -1750
Belmont Stakes - Sportsbook - Belmont Park
  • American Pharoah wins Belmont +105
  • Field wins Belmont -135
Back to Top