Malcolm Brogdon is a good bet to win 6th man of the year

2022-23 NBA Awards Odds: DPOY, Sixth Man & Most Improved

With the NBA regular season wrapping up, hard-core hoop heads can get one more stab at some serious value on the 2022-23 NBA awards odds. The markets won’t be around much longer, but NBA Defensive Player of the Year odds, Sixth Man of the Year odds and Most Improved Player of the Year odds are still open for betting.

Here’s one last look at some of the best bets on NBA awards.

2022-23 NBA Defensive Player Of The Year Odds

2022-23 NBA Defensive Player of The Year Odds
Jaren Jackson Jr. (MEM)-145
Brook Lopez (MIL)+115

Odds as of April 5

NBA Defensive Player Of The Year: Best Bet

Jaren Jackson Jr. (-145)

Jackson is a killer in the paint. Any unlucky opponent who wanders too close to the rim gets a heavy dose of pain in the form of the 23-year-old’s vertical leaping ability and knack for blocking shots (3 blocks per game). Nicknamed “Block Panther,” Jackson has taken the next step defensively and is generating highlight-reel stuffs on defense.

As we hit the very end of the regular season, it’s a two-man race between Jackson and Brook Lopez — and the Memphis big man has Lopez cooked in every category. Jackson is beating Lopez in defensive rating, rebounds, blocks and steals. This is an easy one. Bet Jackson (-145) before the market closes.

2022-23 NBA Sixth Man Of The Year Odds

2022-23 NBA Sixth Man of the Year Odds
Immanuel Quickley (NYK)-400
Malcolm Brogdon (BOS)+250

Odds as of April 5

NBA Sixth Man Of The Year Odds: Best Bet

Malcolm Brogdon (+250)

Hats off to Immanuel Quickley for rocketing up the oddsboard during the second half of this season. But the 23-year-old’s rise to the top doesn’t guarantee he’s the best sixth man in the league. The door is open just a crack, and that’s where Brogdon sneaks in.

The Celtics’ combo guard doesn’t quite log the minutes Quickley does, but he’s outclassed the Knick in every other category this season. Brogdon leads Quickley in points per game, assists, rebounds and field-goal percentage. There are far worse plays at +250. 

2022-23 NBA Most Improved Player Of The Year Odds

2022-23 NBA Most Improved Player Of The Year Odds
Lauri Markkanen (UTA)-350
Shai Gilgeous-Alexander (OKC)+250
Jalen Brunson (NYK)+2200

Odds as of April 5

MIP Odds: Best Bet

Shai Gilgeous-Alexander (+250)

Listen, Markkanen has this award locked down, so I’d steer clear. But if you must make a bet, there’s always a small chance SGA gets lucky and wins MIP. His season has been exceptional: 31.5 PPG, 51.2 FG% and a whole lot of overachieving for the Thunder.

If anyone snatches the hardware away from Markkanen, it’s Gilgeous-Alexander.

How To Read NBA Awards Odds

When you go to any sportsbook, you’ll see prop odds for the various NBA awards listed like so:

Sixth Man Odds

  • Jordan Poole +300
  • Tyler Herro +325
  • Jordan Clarkson +1000

Generally, favorites are represented by the minus sign (-), whereas underdogs are shown by the plus sign (+). In this case, the player with the lowest odds is the front-runner and the rest are dogs.

If you were to bet $100 on Poole, you’d get a payout of $400 – you get your $100 back along with your winnings of $300. That same $100 on Clarkson would give you $1,100 – your original money is returned coupled with your prize of $1,000. Bets on underdogs are riskier, which is why they come with greater rewards.

To find out what you’d win based on your bet amount and the odds offered at the betting site, check out our Odds Calculator.

What Is An NBA Prop Bet?

This is a wager on the occurrence or non-occurrence of a specific player or team milestones that may not directly relate to the outcome of a certain game. The prop bet here is on odds to win different NBA awards. These are set by oddsmakers early but you’ll notice that the lines move as the season progresses. A coach could be a lock for Coach of the Year in December only to see his odds shift as his team underperforms in February. We suggest jumping on odds you like when you see them to get the most value out of your bets.