OddsShark Top Sportsbooks

*Terms and Conditions apply to all bonus offers on this website. Please visit operator for details.

Armed Forces Bowl

The Fort Worth Bowl was inaugurated in 2003, bringing college football bowl game action to Amon G. Carter Stadium, home of the TCU Horned Frogs, for the first time in 82 years. The first edition featured a matchup between the hometown Horned Frogs and Boise State, with the visiting Broncos coming from behind to tally a 34-31 victory as 10-point chalk.

That marked the first time that TCU had enjoyed home-field advantage in a bowl game since falling 63-7 to the Centre College Praying Colonels in the 1921 Fort Worth Classic.

Following the loss of its primary sponsor in 2005, the Fort Worth Bowl was rechristened as the Armed Forces Bowl in 2006, and featured Army, Navy or Air Force in eight of the next 11 years.

The Air Force Falcons struggled in five appearances, losing on four occasions, including three as betting chalk, while Navy and Army combined to claim victories in two of three appearances. However, the Midshipmen dropped a heartbreaking 48-45 decision to Louisiana Tech with no time on the clock in 2016.

Service academies should have plenty of opportunity to improve their record at the Armed Forces Bowl as a result of contractual commitments to the game by the AAC and MWC, the respective homes of the Midshipmen and Falcons, and the independent Army Black Knights.

The list of Armed Forces Bowl MVPs includes Los Angeles Rams quarterback Jared Goff, who claimed the honor in 2015 as a member of the California Golden Bears. Wide receiver Jordan Taylor went on to win Super Bowl 50 with the Denver Broncos after earning MVP honors in 2012 as a member of the Rice Owls.

This year’s edition of the Armed Forces Bowl will see the San Diego State Aztecs take on the Army Black Knights. San Diego went a perfect 5-0 ATS in road games during the regular season and has covered in four straight overall. For a betting preview of the game, read our Armed Forces Bowl preview.

For updated lines and great props for all bowl games head over to Bovada today.

Armed Forces Bowl History
YearBowlTeamScoreTeamScoreSpreadATS WinnerSU Winner
2003Armed Forces BowlTCU31Boise State34-10TCUBOISE
2004Armed Forces BowlMarshall14Cincinnati32-1CINCINCINCIN
2005Armed Forces BowlHouston13Kansas42-4KANSASKANSAS
2006Armed Forces BowlUtah25Tulsa13+2.5UTAHUTAH
2007Armed Forces BowlAir Force36California42-4.5CALCAL
2008Armed Forces BowlAir Force28Houston34-5.5HOUSTOHOUSTO
2009Armed Forces BowlAir Force47Houston20-4.5AIRFORAIRFOR
2010Armed Forces BowlArmy16Southern Methodist14-7ARMYARMY
2011Armed Forces BowlTulsa21BYU24+2.5BYUBYU
2012Armed Forces BowlRice33Air Force14-1.5RICERICE
2013Armed Forces BowlMiddle Tennessee6Navy24-6.5NAVYNAVY
2014Armed Forces BowlPittsburgh34Houston35+5.5HOUSTOHOUSTO
2015Armed Forces BowlCalifornia55Air Force36+5.5CALCAL
2016Armed Forces BowlLA Tech48Navy45+7.5NavyLA Tech
2017Armed Forces BowlSan Diego State-Army-