Hawai’i Bowl Betting History

The Hawai’i Bowl is typically played on Christmas Day or Christmas Eve at the Aloha Stadium in Honolulu, Hawaii. This bowl started being played in 2002 and has no affiliation with the Aloha Bowl, which ran from 1982 to 2000. Despite the lack of affiliation, the Aloha Bowl is looked at as a predecessor to the Hawai’i Bowl as this bowl picked up where the Aloha Bowl left off in the same stadium just one year after it ended.

The Conference USA has had a tie-in to this bowl since 2009 and the Mountain West Conference has had a tie-in since 2012, the year the Hawaii Warriors left the Western Athletic Conference to join it. Since its inception, the Hawai’i Bowl has had a “Hawaii guarantee,” assuring that the Warriors earn an automatic bid into this bowl if they are bowl-eligible. If not, the bid goes to another team in the Mountain West.

Beginning in 2008, eight of the next nine Hawai’i Bowls were decided by 15 points or more, with an average margin of victory of 25.6 points per game. Interestingly, underdogs have often been on the right side of those blowouts, with dogs going 6-2 SU and 7-1 ATS from 2009 to 2016.

Hawaii played in six of the first nine Hawai’i Bowls, but from 2011 to 2016 qualified only once. Those early bowl games gave Hawaii’s two all-time greatest quarterbacks, Timmy Chang and Colt Brennan, the chance to earn Hawai’i Bowl MVP honors. Other former Hawai’i Bowl MVPs include Brandon Marshall, Chris Johnson, Jimmy Clausen and Golden Tate.

The Louisiana Tech Bulldogs will take on the Hawaii Rainbow Warriors in this year’s Hawai’i Bowl. For the latest odds, a free pick and handicapping information, visit our Hawai’i Bowl Game Center

Hawai’i Bowl History
Year Bowl Team Score Team Score Spread ATS Sportsbook SU Sportsbook
1995 Aloha Bowl UCLA 30 Kansas 51 +5 KANSAS KANSAS
1996 Aloha Bowl Navy 42 California 38 -1 NAVY NAVY
1997 Aloha Bowl Washington 51 Michigan State 23 +5 WASH WASH
1998 Aloha Bowl Colorado 51 Oregon 43 -4.5 COLO COLO
1999 Aloha Bowl Wake Forest 23 Arizona State 3 -3.5 WAKE WAKE
2000 Aloha Bowl Boston College 31 Arizona State 17 -3.5 BOST.C BOST.C
2002 Hawai’i Bowl Tulane 36 Hawaii 28 -14.5 TULANE TULANE
2003 Hawai’i Bowl Houston 48 Hawaii 54 -11 HOUSTO HAWAII
2004 Hawai’i Bowl UAB 40 Hawaii 59 -3 HAWAII HAWAII
2005 Hawai’i Bowl Nevada 49 Central Florida 48 +4 UCF NEVADA
2006 Hawai’i Bowl Arizona State 24 Hawaii 41 -8.5 HAWAII HAWAII
2007 Hawai’i Bowl East Carolina 41 Boise State 38 -11.5 E.CAR E.CAR
2008 Hawai’i Bowl Notre Dame 49 Hawaii 21 -2.5 NOTRD NOTRD
2009 Hawai’i Bowl Southern Methodist 45 Nevada 10 -11 SMU SMU
2010 Hawai’i Bowl Tulsa 62 Hawaii 35 -10.5 TULSA TULSA
2011 Hawai’i Bowl Nevada 17 Southern Miss 24 -9 NEVADA S.MISS
2012 Hawai’i Bowl SMU 42 Fresno State 10 -13 SMU SMU
2013 Hawai’i Bowl Oregon State 38 Boise State 23 +4 OSU OSU
2014 Hawai’i Bowl Fresno State 6 Rice 30 Ev RICE RICE
2015 Hawai’i Bowl San Diego State 42 Cincinnati 7 -2.5 San Diego State San Diego State
2016 Hawai’i Bowl Middle Tennessee 35 Hawaii 52 +7 Hawaii Hawaii
2017 Hawai’i Bowl Houston 27 Fresno State 33 -3.5 Fresno State Fresno State
2018 Hawai’i Bowl Louisiana Tech 31 Hawaii 14 +1 Louisiana Tech Louisiana Tech