Holiday Bowl Betting History

The Holiday Bowl has been played since 1978 in San Diego at what is now known as Qualcomm Stadium, although its future there is unclear after 2018. Because the NFL’s Chargers moved to Los Angeles, Qualcomm Stadium could be razed and the Holiday Bowl might move to Petco Park, home of MLB’s Padres. This bowl was created to give the WAC, now defunct in college football, an automatic bowl bid after the Fiesta Bowl severed ties with the conference because of Arizona and Arizona State moving to what is now the Pac-12.

The 2016 Holiday Bowl, won by Minnesota 17-12 over Washington State, was the last to be televised by ESPN – Fox Sports now has the rights. ESPN had televised the bowl for 30 years, making it the longest-running partner in the network’s history (it was ESPN’s first bowl). The Pac-12 has had a tie with the Holiday Bowl for two decades, and the Big Ten has sent a team since 2014.

BYU, now an independent, has made the most appearances by far with 11. In 1984, the top-ranked Cougars beat Michigan 24-17 to win the national title as the country’s only unbeaten team. That’s the last time a school not currently in a Power 5 conference or including Notre Dame was crowned national champion.

The Holiday Bowl has hosted some of the great players in modern NCAA history, among them former BYU quarterbacks Jim McMahon, Steve Young and Ty Detmer as well as ex-Oklahoma State running back Barry Sanders. In 1988, Sanders had the greatest season ever for a college tailback in winning the Heisman Trophy. The future Detroit Lions legend set the NCAA record with 2,628 yards rushing that still stands. Back then, however, the NCAA didn’t count bowl totals. Sanders added 222 yards and a Holiday Bowl-record five rushing scores in a 62-14 blowout win over Wyoming.

The Big Ten representative was the underdog in three straight Holiday Bowls starting in 2014, covering them all and winning the last two.

The Northwestern Wildcats and the Utah Utes will go toe to toe in this year’s Holiday Bowl. For the latest odds, a free pick and handicapping information, visit our Holiday Bowl Game Center

Holiday Bowl History
Year Bowl Team Score Team Score Spread ATS Sportsbook SU Sportsbook
1995 Holiday Bowl Colorado State 21 Kansas State 54 -8 KAN.ST KAN.ST
1996 Holiday Bowl Colorado 33 Washington 21 +6 COLO COLO
1997 Holiday Bowl Colorado State 35 Missouri 24 +3 COLOST COLOST
1998 Holiday Bowl Nebraska 20 Arizona 23 +3.5 ARIZON ARIZON
1999 Holiday Bowl Washington 20 Kansas State 24 +11 KAN.ST KAN.ST
2000 Holiday Bowl Texas 30 Oregon 35 +7 OREG OREG
2001 Holiday Bowl Washington 43 Texas 47 -13.5 WASH TEXAS
2002 Holiday Bowl Kansas State 34 Arizona State 27 +17.5 ARIZST KAN.ST
2003 Holiday Bowl Texas 28 Washington State 20 +9 WSHST TEXAS
2004 Holiday Bowl Texas Tech 45 California 31 -10.5 TXTECH TXTECH
2005 Holiday Bowl Oklahoma 17 Oregon 14 -3 OKLA OKLA
2006 Holiday Bowl Texas A&M 10 California 45 -3.5 CAL CAL
2007 Holiday Bowl Texas 52 Arizona State 34 +1 TEXAS TEXAS
2008 Holiday Bowl Oregon 42 Oklahoma State 31 +1 OREG OREG
2009 Holiday Bowl Nebraska 33 Arizona 0 +2 NEBR NEBR
2010 Holiday Bowl Washington 19 Nebraska 7 -13.5 WASH WASH
2011 Holiday Bowl California 10 Texas 21 -3 TEXAS TEXAS
2012 Holiday Bowl Baylor 49 UCLA 26 Ev BAYLOR BAYLOR
2013 Holiday Bowl Arizona State 23 Texas Tech 37 +16.5 T TECH T TECH
2014 Holiday Bowl Nebraska 42 USC 45 -7 NEBR USC
2015 Holiday Bowl USC 21 Wisconsin 23 +3.5 Wisconsin Wisconsin
2016 Holiday Bowl Minnesota 17 Washington State 12 -9 Minnesota Minnesota
2017 Holiday Bowl Michigan State 42 Washington State 17 +2.5 Michigan State Michigan State
2018 Holiday Bowl Northwestern 31 Utah 20 +6.5 Northwestern Northwestern