Las Vegas Bowl Betting History

Sin City has played host to the Las Vegas Bowl since 1992, following the California Raisin Bowl’s transfer from Fresno the year prior.

Nevada and UNLV combined to make their home state college bowl game five times out of the first nine editions. The Wolfpack went 1-2, while the Runnin’ Rebels put up a perfect 2-0 record – but the Silver State has sent exactly zero teams to the Las Vegas Bowl during the 21st century. That’s a shame too, because after relocating from Bulldog Stadium in Fresno, the game has been held at Sam Boyd Stadium near the UNLV campus.

Both had their chances, though, as the game invited a top team from the Mountain West Conference to play a Pac-12 opponent every December from 2001 to 2016. Historically, the state of Utah has dominated the Mountain West, as evidenced by BYU, Utah and Utah State combining for a dozen appearances through the history of the Las Vegas Bowl.

In 1995 – the first year that overtime football was used to decide all bowl game ties – Toledo capped a perfect 10-0-1 season by nipping Nevada in a 40-37 overtime thriller. By 1996, the back-and-forth overtime system was adopted for all NCAA football games.

Ten of the games between 2005 and 2016 were decided by seven points or more, including seven blowouts of 20 or more points. Accordingly, favorites covered eight times over that span, but the spread surprisingly remained within 6.5 points or less in the final five.

Sin City will play host to the Arizona State Sun Devils and the Fresno State Bulldogs in this year’s Las Vegas Bowl. Check out our Las Vegas Bowl Game Center for odds, a free pick and handicapping info.

Las Vegas Bowl History
YearBowlTeamScoreTeamScoreSpreadATS SportsbookSU Sportsbook
1996Las Vegas BowlNevada18Ball State15+3PushNEVADA
1997Las Vegas BowlOregon41Air Force13+3OREGOREG
1998Las Vegas BowlNorth Carolina20San Diego State13+7PushUNC
1999Las Vegas BowlFresno State16Utah17-5FRESNOUTAH
2000Las Vegas BowlArkansas14UNLV31-1UNLVUNLV
2001Las Vegas BowlUtah10Southern Cal6-3.5UTAHUTAH
2002Las Vegas BowlNew Mexico13UCLA27-9.5UCLAUCLA
2003Las Vegas BowlOregon State55New Mexico14+2.5OREGSTOREGST
2004Las Vegas BowlWyoming24UCLA21-12.5WYOMNGWYOMNG
2005Las Vegas BowlBYU28California35-8BYUCAL
2006Las Vegas BowlBYU38Oregon8+3.5BYUBYU
2007Las Vegas BowlUCLA16BYU17-6.5UCLABYU
2008Las Vegas BowlBYU21Arizona31-3ARIZONARIZON
2009Las Vegas BowlBYU44Oregon State20+2.5BYUBYU
2010Las Vegas BowlUtah3Boise State26-16.5BOISEBOISE
2011Las Vegas BowlArizona State24Boise State56-14BOISEBOISE
2012Las Vegas BowlBoise State28Washington26+6.5WASHBOISE
2013Las Vegas BowlFresno State20USC45-5USCUSC
2014Las Vegas BowlUtah45Colorado State10+3UTAHUTAH
2015Las Vegas BowlBYU28Utah35-2.5UTAHUTAH
2016Las Vegas BowlSan Diego State34Houston10-4.5SD.STSD.ST
2017Las Vegas BowlOregon28Boise State39+7Boise StateBoise State
2018Las Vegas BowlArizona State20Fresno State31+6Fresno StateFresno State
Back to Top