Liberty Bowl Betting History

The Liberty Bowl is the eighth-oldest college football bowl, first played in 1959 in Philadelphia, the home of the Liberty Bell.

In its early days the Liberty Bowl was played in cold conditions, in front of small crowds. For those reasons, in 1964 the Liberty Bowl became the first major college bowl to be played indoors, at the Convention Center in Atlantic City, New Jersey. Utah beat West Virginia 32-6. The following year the Liberty Bowl moved to Memphis, Tennessee and the Liberty Bowl Memorial Stadium, where it’s been played ever since, often on New Year’s Eve. 

These days the Liberty Bowl matches the SEC against the Big 12. Recent Liberty Bowls are trending high-scoring; from 2011 to 2016, six Liberty Bowls averaged a shade under 60 points, going 5-1 on the OVER. 

Penn State won the first two Liberty Bowls, beating a Bear Bryant Alabama squad 7-0 and Oregon 41-12. Bryant eventually coached the Crimson Tide in three more Liberty Bowls, including his last game, a 21-15 victory over Illinois in 1982.

In 1962 Oregon State quarterback Terry Baker, the Heisman Trophy Sportsbook that year, scored the only touchdown of the game on a 99-yard run, giving his Beavers a 6-0 Liberty Bowl victory over Villanova. In 1971 Tennessee made its first appearance in its home-state bowl, beating Arkansas 14-13. The Volunteers returned to the Liberty Bowl three years later and defeated Maryland 7-3, and they beat Minnesota in the 1986 game 21-14. But Tennessee has not been back to the Liberty Bowl since.

In 1983 Notre Dame made its only Liberty Bowl appearance, beating a Doug Flutie-led Boston College outfit 19-18. Flutie won the Heisman the following season.

Air Force did a four-year stint at the Liberty Bowl from 1989 to 1992, losing to Ole Miss, beating Ohio State and Mississippi State, then losing to Ole Miss again. And in 2007 Mississippi State defeated Central Florida 10-3 in front of a Liberty Bowl-record crowd of nearly 64,000.

Over the years Miami, Auburn, Virginia Tech, USC, Texas A&M, Nebraska, LSU, Georgia, Michigan State and Stanford, among many college football powers, have all played in the Liberty Bowl.

This season’s Liberty Bowl will see the Missouri Tigers take on the Oklahoma State Cowboys. For the latest odds, a free pick and handicapping information, visit our Liberty Bowl Bowl Game Center

Liberty Bowl History
Year Bowl Team Score Team Score Spread ATS Sportsbook SU Sportsbook
1995 Liberty Bowl Stanford 13 East Carolina 19 +3 E.CAR E.CAR
1996 Liberty Bowl Syracuse 30 Houston 17 +16 HOUSTO SYRACU
1997 Liberty Bowl Pittsburgh 7 Southern Miss 41 -10 S.MISS S.MISS
1998 Liberty Bowl BYU 27 Tulane 41 -7 TULANE TULANE
1999 Liberty Bowl Colorado State 17 Southern Miss 23 -6.5 COLOST S.MISS
2000 Liberty Bowl Colorado State 22 Louisville 17 +1.5 COLOST COLOST
2001 Liberty Bowl BYU 10 Louisville 28 -2.5 LOUISV LOUISV
2002 Liberty Bowl Colorado State 3 TCU 17 +3 TCU TCU
2003 Liberty Bowl Utah 17 Southern Miss 0 +2 UTAH UTAH
2004 Liberty Bowl Boise State 40 Louisville 44 -9.5 BOISE LOUISV
2005 Liberty Bowl Tulsa 31 Fresno State 24 -7.5 TULSA TULSA
2006 Liberty Bowl Houston 36 South Carolina 44 -5 S.CARO S.CARO
2007 Liberty Bowl Central Florida 3 Mississippi State 10 +3 MISS ST MISS ST
2008 Liberty Bowl East Carolina 19 Kentucky 25 +3 KENTUC KENTUC
2009 Liberty Bowl Arkansas 20 East Carolina 17 +7.5 E.CAR ARK
2010 Liberty Bowl Central Florida 10 Georgia 6 -6 UCF UCF
2011 Liberty Bowl Cincinnati 31 Vanderbilt 24 -2 CINCIN CINCIN
2012 Liberty Bowl Tulsa 31 Iowa State 17 +2.5 TULSA TULSA
2013 Liberty Bowl Mississippi State 44 Rice 7 +7 MISS ST MISS ST
2014 Liberty Bowl West Virginia 37 Texas A&M 45 +3.5 Texas A&M Texas A&M
2015 Liberty Bowl Kansas State 23 Arkansas 45 -13.5 Arkansas Arkansas
2016 Liberty Bowl Georgia 31 TCU 23 -3 Georgia Georgia
2017 Liberty Bowl Iowa State 21 Memphis 20 -3.5 Iowa State Iowa State
2018 Liberty Bowl Missouri 33 Oklahoma State 38 +9.5 OK State OK State