Sun Bowl Betting History

Played annually in late December in El Paso, Texas, the Sun Bowl has enjoyed an illustrious history since the inaugural edition of the game was played on New Year’s Day 1935.

That contest featured a matchup between local high school squads, but also coincided with the debut of both the Sugar Bowl and Orange Bowl, which join the Sun Bowl as the second-oldest bowl games in the nation, behind only the legendary Rose Bowl.

The Sun Bowl has made history on a number of occasions during its nine decades. The 1940 Sun Bowl marked just the second time a major bowl game ended in a scoreless tie. The Arizona State Bulldogs took on the Catholic University Cardinals on windswept New Year’s Day, with the two squads combining to complete just three pass attempts and compile just 16 total passing yards while punting 23 times.

Conversely, the 2005 Sun Bowl set the record at the time for most points scored in a bowl game, as the UCLA Bruins topped Northwestern 50-38 as 3-point underdogs in their third Sun Bowl appearance. A decade earlier, future Super Bowl Sportsbook Priest Holmes earned MVP honors after electrifying fans with a four-touchdown performance in the Texas Longhorns’ 35-31 win over North Carolina in 1994.

Over 80 teams have participated in the Sun Bowl during its long history, with the Texas Tech Red Raiders making a record nine appearances but earning just one victory, a 25-14 win over Pacific back in 1952. Starting in 2014, the Sun Bowl is contested by teams from the ACC and Pac-12.

The 2018 Sun Bowl features the Pittsburgh Panthers and the Stanford Cardinal. For the latest odds, a free pick and handicapping information, visit our Sun Bowl Game Center. 

Sun Bowl History
YearBowlTeamScoreTeamScoreSpreadATS SportsbookSU Sportsbook
1995Sun BowlIowa38Washington18-5IOWAIOWA
1996Sun BowlStanford38Michigan State0-8STANFOSTANFO
1997Sun BowlArizona State17Iowa7-7.5ARIZSTARIZST
1998Sun BowlSouthern Cal19TCU28+17.5TCUTCU
1999Sun BowlMinnesota20Oregon24+2OREGOREG
2000Sun BowlUCLA20Wisconsin21-4.5UCLAWISCSN
2001Sun BowlPurdue27Washington State33-6PushWSHST
2002Sun BowlPurdue34Washington24-2PURDUEPURDUE
2003Sun BowlOregon30Minnesota31-5.5OREGMINN
2004Sun BowlArizona State27Purdue23-7.5ARIZSTARIZST
2005Sun BowlNorthwestern38UCLA50-3UCLAUCLA
2006Sun BowlMissouri38Oregon State39-3.5MIZZOUOREGST
2007Sun BowlOregon56South Florida21-5.5OREGOREG
2008Sun BowlPittsburgh0Oregon State3-1.5OREGSTOREGST
2009Sun BowlStanford27Oklahoma31-10.5STANFOOKLA
2010Sun BowlNotre Dame33Miami17-2.5NOTRDNOTRD
2011Sun BowlUtah30Georgia Tech27-1.5UTAHUTAH
2012Sun BowlGeorgia Tech21USC7-9.5GATECHGATECH
2013Sun BowlVirginia Tech12UCLA42-7UCLAUCLA
2014Sun BowlDuke31Arizona State36-7.5DUKEARIZST
2015Sun BowlMiami14Washington State20-3WSHSTWSHST
2016Sun BowlStanford25North Carolina23+2.5UNCSTANFO
2017Sun BowlNC State52Arizona State31+4.5NC STATENC STATE
2018Sun BowlPittsburgh13Stanford14-3.5PittsburghStanford
Back to Top