Texas Bowl Betting History

The city of Houston played host to 29 Bluebonnet Bowls from 1959 to 1987, and later to six Houston Bowls. Since 2006, Houston’s been home to the Texas Bowl, one of now six bowl games played each year in the Lone Star State.

The Texas Bowl, also played as the Meineke Car Care of Texas and Advocare Bowls, takes place every December between Christmas and New Year’s Day at NRG Stadium in Houston. This bowl now pits the Big 12 against the SEC, but the Texas Bowl has taken teams from eight different conferences over the years.

The Texas Bowl has seen its share of high-scoring games and blowouts. The first 11 Texas Bowls averaged 66 total points, and six of those games were decided by 20 or more points.  Legendary Big 12 coach Bill Snyder guided his Kansas State team to the first Texas Bowl in 2006, but the Wildcats lost to a very good Rutgers outfit 37-10.

The 2007 Texas Bowl fittingly matched former Southwestern Conference rivals, as TCU tipped Houston 20-13. Frogs quarterback Andy Dalton, later with the Cincinnati Bengals, won the game’s MVP award. In the 2008 game, hometown Rice picked up its first bowl victory in over 50 years with a 38-14 win over Western Michigan. In 2010, Texas A&M, led by game MVP Ryan Tannehill, knocked off Northwestern 33-22.  

Minnesota made back-to-back Texas Bowl appearances in 2012-13, but lost both games. First the Gophers fell to Texas Tech 34-31 on a field goal at the buzzer, then to Syracuse 21-17 on an Orange touchdown with a minute to go.

The 2014 Texas Bowl featured another old SWC rivalry, as Arkansas tripped Texas 31-7. In 2015, LSU topped Texas Tech 56-27 in front of a new Texas Bowl-record crowd of over 71,000. Tigers running back Leonard Fournette, now playing Sundays with the Jacksonville Jaguars, scored five touchdowns and was named the game’s MVP. And in 2016, Snyder returned with his Kansas State outfit and beat Texas A&M 33-28. 

Through 2016 Texas-based teams were only 4-5 both SU and ATS in Texas Bowls.

This year the Baylor Bears will meet the Vanderbilt Commodores in the 2018 Texas Bowl. For the latest odds, a free pick and handicapping information, visit our Texas Bowl Game Center. 

Texas Bowl History
YearBowlTeamScoreTeamScoreSpreadATS SportsbookSU Sportsbook
2000GalleryFurniture.com BowlEast Carolina40Texas Tech27-1E.CARE.CAR
2001GalleryFurniture.com BowlTCU9Texas A&M28-4.5TEXA&MTEXA&M
2002Houston BowlSouthern Miss23Oklahoma State33-10PushOKLAST
2003Houston BowlNavy14Texas Tech38-10.5TXTECHTXTECH
2004Houston BowlColorado33Texas El Paso28+2COLOCOLO
2005Houston BowlIowa State24TCU27EvTCUTCU
2006Texas BowlKansas State10Rutgers37-9RUTGERRUTGER
2007Texas BowlTCU20Houston13+7PushTCU
2008Texas BowlWestern Michigan14Rice38-2RICERICE
2009Texas BowlNavy35Missouri13-6NAVYNAVY
2010Texas BowlIllinois38Baylor14+2ILLINOILLINO
2011Texas BowlTexas A&M33Northwestern22+9.5TEXAMTEXAM
2012Texas BowlMinnesota31Texas Tech34-13MINNTXTECH
2013Texas BowlSyracuse21Minnesota17-3.5SYRSYR
2015Texas BowlLSU56Texas Tech27+7LSULSU
2016Texas BowlTexas A&M28Kansas State33+4KAN.STKAN.ST
2017Texas BowlTexas 33Missouri16-3TexasTexas
2018Texas BowlBaylor45Vanderbilt38-4.5BaylorBaylor
Back to Top