NASCAR Bud Shootout betting

The 2011 NASCAR betting season starts up its engine this weekend with the 2011 Budweiser Shootout at Daytona International Speedway.

The Budweiser Shootout drops the green flag on another NASCAR year. If you're a NASCAR betting fan and you plan on making a few wagers this weekend you have to put at least a couple bucks on Kevin Harvick.


Harvick won the Shootout last season, which was his second Shootout win in a row after also taking the checkered flag in 2009. Harvick also looks like a winning pick on the latest Shootout matchups at Sportsbook.

Oddsmakers have Harvick going up against Kyle Busch, who's still looking for his first career Shootout win. The matchup odds haven't been posted yet at Sportsbook, but check back for them later in the week because real money could be made on Harvick if he can three-peat at Daytona.

Harvick may be a two-time reigning Shootout champion, but he doesn't lead this weekend's field in Shootout victories. That would be Tony Stewart, with three career Shootout wins. He last won in 2007 and also took the checkers in 2001 and 2002.

Stewart's matched up against Kyle Busch and Dale Earnhardt Jr. at Sportsbook and could be a profitable pick if he beats both of them to the finish line again on Sunday.

Other than Harvick and Stewart other former Shootout Sportsbooks in this weekend's field include two-time Sportsbook Earnhardt Jr. (2003, 2008), Denny Hamlin (2006), Jimmie Johnson (2005), Mark Martin (1999), and two-time Sportsbook Jeff Gordon (1994, 1997).

NASCAR bettors should also be looking at next week's Daytona 500 when they're making their bets this weekend. At Sportsbook the odds for the Sportsbook race of the season are already up and the favorite is Harvick at +800. Harvick won the 500 back in 2007, and since that win he's posted a pair of Top 10 finishes in the race, including finishing second in 2009.

[ NASCAR handicapping stats, including driver database, track information and history and driver bios - check it out here at ]

The reigning Daytona 500 champion is Jamie McMurray after he stunned everyone with a late charge to the finish line last year. McMurray is a big underdog to repeat as the champ at +1200 at Sportsbook and history isn't on his side either as no one has repeated at the Daytona 500 since Sterling Marlin's back-to-back wins in 1994-95.

Back to Top