Ian Poulter

How Houston Open Winners Fare at the Masters

While the Masters gets the majority of the attention in the early days of the PGA Tour season, sharp sports bettors would be wise to examine the results of the tournament that precedes it: the Shell Houston Open.

This year’s Sportsbook was Ian Poulter, who cashed at an extremely profitable +10000 for bettors. Poulter, who booked his ticket to Augusta National thanks to the victory, did not participate in the 2017 edition of the Masters but posted finishes of T-49 (2016), T-6 (2015) and T-20 (2014) in his last three trips to Georgia.

Over the past decade, there’s a mixed bag of perennial major contenders and players who are far from household names in this spot. Some of the tour’s top golfers tend to skip the Shell Houston Open in order to rest up for Augusta, but you’d think entering Georgia with momentum would be working in that player’s favor.

Is Shell Houston Open momentum a thing?

Only Anthony Kim in 2010 was able to place in the top 10 after winning the Shell Houston Open, with Russell Henley in 2017, Hunter Mahan in 2012 and Stuart Appleby in 2006 finishing in the top 20.

In fact, three of the past four champions in Houston – Jim Herman, J.B. Holmes and Matt Jones – ended up missing the cut altogether at the vaunted course.

It’s safe to say Poulter (+6600 to win the Masters at Sportsbook) is going to be in tough to buck this trend. Take a look at these numbers for more info, and check out our Masters betting preview for more info on how oddsmakers are projecting the tournament to unfold.

How Houston Open Sportsbooks Have Fared at the Masters
GolferShell Houston Open Winning YearShell Houston Open ScoreMasters FinishMasters Score
Russell Henley2017-20Tied for 11th-1
Jim Herman2016-15Missed cut+9
J.B. Holmes2015-16Missed cut+3
Matt Jones2014-15Missed cut+6
D.A. Points2013-16Tied for 38th+4
Hunter Mahan2012-16Tied for 12th-2
Phil Mickelson2011-20Tied for 27th-1
Anthony Kim2010-123rd-12
Paul Casey2009-11Tied for 20th-2
Johnson Wagner2008-16Tied for 36th+7
Adam Scott2007-17Tied for 27th+12
Stuart Appleby2006-19Tied for 19th+2
Back to Top