OddsShark Top Sportsbooks

*Terms and Conditions apply to all bonus offers on this website. Please visit operator for details.

Rose Bowl

The very first Rose Bowl was played on January 1, 1902, and the game has been played annually on New Year’s Day since 1916. Since the inception of the College Football Playoff in 2014, the Rose Bowl is used as the destination of one of the semifinal games every three years. The game is played on New Year’s Day unless January 1 falls on a Sunday, in which case the game is played on January 2.

With very few exceptions, the Rose Bowl has been played between a team from the Pac-12 and the Big Ten since 1947. The Rose Bowl continues to honor those tie-ins on years that it is not the host of a College Football Playoff semifinal game. The USC Trojans hold the Rose Bowl record for both appearances in the game with 34 and wins with 25. Michigan ranks second in those two categories with 20 appearances and eight wins.

From 2007 to 2016, betting favorites have been dominant in the Rose Bowl, going 8-2 SU and 6-4 ATS. The Pac-12 is 50-43-3 all-time in 96 Rose Bowl appearances, but in games that don’t include USC, the conference’s record drops to 25-34-3 SU. The three Rose Bowls from 2014 to 2016 went OVER the posted total.

Former Rose Bowl MVPs include Christian McCaffrey (2016), Marcus Mariota (2015), Andy Dalton (2011), Keyshawn Johnson (1996), Jack Del Rio (1985), Warren Moon (1978), Jim Plunkett (1971), and O.J. Simpson (1968). Vince Young won the MVP award in back-to-back years in 2005 and 2006, leading Texas to a 41-38 win over USC for the national championship in his final collegiate game.

This year’s Rose Bowl will see the No. 3-ranked Georgia Bulldogs taking on the No. 2-ranked Oklahoma Sooners with the winner moving on to the national championship game. Each team has just one outright loss on the season, but the Sooners come into the game riding an eight-game winning streak with six of those wins coming by double digits. For more on this year’s game, check out our Rose Bowl betting preview.

For updated lines and great Props for all Bowl games head over to Bovada today.

Rose Bowl History
YearBowlAwayScoreHomeScoreSpreadATS WinnerSU Winner
1995Rose BowlSouthern Cal41Northwestern32+3USCUSC
1996Rose BowlOhio State20Arizona State17+2OHIOSTOHIOST
1997Rose BowlWashington State16Michigan21-7WSHSTMICH
1998Rose BowlWisconsin38UCLA31-9WISCSNWISCSN
1999Rose BowlStanford9Wisconsin17+11WISCSNWISCSN
2000Rose BowlPurdue24Washington34+1WASHWASH
2001Rose BowlNebraska14Miami37-8.5MIAMIMIAMI
2002Rose BowlWashington State14Oklahoma34+5OKLAOKLA
2003Rose BowlMichigan14Southern Cal28-7USCUSC
2004Rose BowlMichigan37Texas38-7MICHTEXAS
2005Rose BowlTexas41Southern Cal38-7TEXASTEXAS
2006Rose BowlMichigan18Southern Cal32+2USCUSC
2007Rose BowlIllinois17Southern Cal49-13.5USCUSC
2008Rose BowlPenn State24Southern Cal38-10USCUSC
2009Rose BowlOhio State26Oregon17-4.5OHIOSTOHIOST
2010Rose BowlTCU21Wisconsin19+3WISCSNTCU
2011Rose BowlWisconsin38Oregon45-4.5OREGOREG
2012Rose BowlStanford20Wisconsin14+4STANSTAN
2013Rose BowlStanford20Michigan State24+6.5MSUMSU
2014Rose BowlFlorida State20Oregon59-8OregonOregon
2015Rose BowlIowa16Stanford45-6StanfordStanford
2016Rose BowlSouthern Cal52Penn State49+7.5Penn StateUSC
2017Rose BowlGeorgia54Oklahoma48+2.5GeorgiaGeorgia