NHL Awards Odds

NHL Awards Odds: McDavid Favored To Complete Hart Hat-Trick

Every year the NHL gathers to award the best of the best, in each position. Well, except for defensive defensemen, they never get any love, regardless of how important they are. 

This page is dedicated to reviewing the odds on all the major NHL awards handed out annually. 

NHL Awards Odds

Hart Trophy

The Hart Trophy is, technically, given to the most valuable player in the league. At least that's what the PHWA are voting for even if that's not what the award says it's for. The Hart is supposed  to go "to the player adjudged to be the most valuable to his team." 

For 2024, Connor McDavid is the runaway favorite to retain the Hart Trophy at +100.

Hart Trophy Odds
Connor McDavid+100
Nathan MacKinnon+900
Leon Draisaitl+1000
Matthew Tkachuk+1200
David Pastrnak+1600
Auston Matthews+1600
Kirill Kaprizov+1600
Jack Hughes+1800
Nikita Kucherov+2500
Tage Thompson+2500

Odds as of August 1

McDavid has won it twice in the last three years and finished second in voting once. Since 2016-17, he's finished no lower than fifth in Hart voting. His 850 points since 2014-15 are 106 more than the next-best player.

It would be insane to have anyone else as the favorite for the Hart in 2023-24.

Calder Trophy

The NHL's contract structure doesn't reward the top young guns in the league, but at least the Calder Trophy does! The Calder is given to the top rookie in that given season. Any position can win it, but it's tough for a goalie. A keeper has only won it 16 times since 1933.

Calder Trophy Odds
Connor BedardChicago Blackhawks-140
Luke HughesNew Jersey Devils+550
Logan CooleyArizona Coyotes+1000
Adam FantiliColumbus Blue Jackets+1000
Devon LeviBuffalo Sabres+1200
Brandt ClarkeLA Kings+2500
Matthew KniesToronto Maple Leafs+2500
David JiricekColumbus Blue Jackets+2500
Simon NemecNew Jersey Devils+2500
Luke EvangelistaNashville Predators+3000

Odds as of August 1

Bedard was drafted first overall in this past draft, he's expected to put up big numbers for the Chicago Blackhawks. And as we all know, numbers matter when it comes to these individual awards. 

I get why Bedard will be favored here, but I can't help but think Luke Hughes will put up huge numbers. The young defenseman put up massive numbers at the University of Michigan and now he'll get to lineup with one of the best sides in the NHL with the New Jersey Devils. Hughes might yet again put up Huge numbers. 

Vezina Trophy

A goalie might not win the Calder much, but a shot-stopper wins the Vezina trophy every single year!

Vezina Trophy Odds
Ilya Sorokin+400
Juuse Saros+600
Igor Shesterkin+600
Connor Hellebuyck+700
Andrei Vasilevskiy+800
Jake Oettinger+1200
Linus Ullmark+1800
Filip Gustavsson+2000
Alexandar Georgiev+2500
Thatcher Demko+3000

Odds as of August 1

The Islanders goalie is favored to win the 23-24 Vezina. It's surprising he hasn't won it yet.

Since Sorokin entered the league in 20-21, he has averaged a 0.924SV% and 2.34GAA. That save percentage is second in the NHL and that goals-against average is also second in the league. His 16 career shutouts since 20-21 are the most in the league. He's consistently been one of the best shot-stoppers in the league.  

Norris Trophy

Defensive defensemen beware, this award is not for you. The Norris is handed out to the best defenseman in the league, but that usually means the one who scores the most. 

Norris Trophy Odds
Cale Makar+180
Adam Fox+500
Rasmus Dahlin+800
Miro Heiskanen+1400
Quinn Hughes+1400
Charlie McAvoy+1400
Roman Josi+1800
Dougie Hamilton+2500
Erik Karlsson+3000
Josh Morrissey+3000

Odds as of August 1

Rasmus Dahlin finally lived up to his first-overall billing. The Swede scored 15 goals and put up 73 points n 78 games for Buffalo last season. All while playing nearly 26 minutes a night for the Sabres.

Dahlin finished eighth in Norris voting last year. If Dahlin can find the back of the net just as often as he did in 22-23 and push the Sabres into the Stanley Cup Playoffs for the first time in 12 years I have no doubt he gets that Norris Trophy.

Jack Adams Award

Jack Adams Award Odds
Rod Brind'AmourCarolina+600
Lindy RuffNew Jersey+800
Don GranatoBuffalo+1000
Jay WoodcroftEdmonton+1000
Jared BednarColorado+1200

Odds as of August 1

Getting Buffalo to the postseason might not just net Rasmus Dahlin a Norris, but it could also net Don Granaton a Jack Adams Award. 

This might be the year for Buffalo. The typically tough Atlantic Division looks weak now. Of the eight teams in the Atlantic, only Toronto finds itself in the top 5 for the Cup. In any given year, you'll find three representatives from the Atlantic in that top 5.

From January 1st onward Buffalo had the 15th best record in the NHL at 24-19-5. They were playing well enough through the second half of the season to earn a playoff spot. Mimic that in the whole of 23-24 and Granato is a shoo-in for the Jack Adams.

NHL Awards Winners Lists

Hart Trophy Winners

Hart Trophy Winners
2023Connor McDavid
2022Auston Matthews
2021Connor McDavid
2020Leon Draisaitl
2019Nikita Kucherov
2018Taylor Hall
2017Connor McDavid
2016Patrick Kane
2015Carey Price
2014Sidney Crosby


McDavid is the best player in the NHL and there's no debate about it. Every other player is in a class below the Oilers' phenom.

Calder Trophy Winners

Calder Trophy Winners
2023Matt Beniers
2022Moritz Seider
2021Kiril Kaprizov
2020Cale Makar
2019Elias Pettersson
2018Mathew Barzal
2017Auston Matthews
2016Artemi Panarin
2015Aaron Ekblad
2014Nathan MacKinnon

Don't feel bad for defensemen. Sure a blueliner has only won top rookie honors three times in the last 10 years, but think about goalies. A goalie hasn't won the Calder since Steve Mason did it in 2009

Vezina Trophy Winners

Vezina Trophy Winners
2023Linus Ullmark
2022Igor Shesterkin
2021Marc-Andre Fleury
2020Connor Hellebuyck
2019Andrei Vasilevskiy
2018Pekka Rinne
2017Sergei Bobrovsky
2016Braden Holtby
2015Carey Price
2014Tuukka Rask

Carey Price was the first goalie since Dominik Hasek to win the Hart and Vezina trophy in the same season. It's something that has only been done by four goalies: Jacques Plante (61-21), Dominik Hasek (96-97 & 97-98), Jose Theodore (01-02), and then Price.

Norris Trophy Winners

Norris Trophy Winners
2023Erik Karlsson
2022Cale Makar
2021Adam Fox
2020Roman Josi
2019Mark Giordano
2018Victor Hedman
2017Brent Burns
2016Drew Doughty
2015Erik Karlsson
2014Duncan Keith

Erik Kalrsson's 2023 Norris Trophy season proved two things. First, a defenseman can still score 100 points in the NHL. We haven't seen 100+ points from a blueliner since Brian Leetch did it in 91-92.

The second thing it proved is that it doesn't matter one bit. Karlsson's Sharks had the fourth-worst record in the NHL last year. Can we stop giving the Norris to the highest-scoring defenseman, please?

Jack Adams Award Winners

Jack Adams Award Winners
2023Jim MontgomeryBoston Bruins
2022Darryl SutterCalgary Flames
2021Rod Brind'AmourCarolina Hurricanes
2020Bruce CassidyBoston Bruins
2019Barry TrotzNew York Islanders
2018Gerard GallantVegas Golden Knights
2017John TortorellaColumbus Blue Jackets
2016Barry TrotzWashington Capitals
2015Bob HartleyCalgary Flames
2014Patrick RoyColorado Avalanche

We often talk about the Presidents' Trophy curse, but what about the Jack Adams curse? From 2014 to 2022, the Jack Adams winner was fired, on average, two years later.