Odds Shark Top Sportsbooks
*Terms and Conditions apply to all bonus offers on this website. Visit operator for details.

NFL Defensive Player of the Year Odds: Donald Still the Favorite

Aaron Donald Leads NFL Defensive Player Of The Year Odds.

We’re six weeks into the 2020 NFL season and while some things have changed, some things remain the same, including Los Angeles Rams defensive tackle Aaron Donald as the favorite in NFL Defensive Player of the Year odds.

Donald continues to be a disruptive force in every game he plays and the best football betting sites have him at +300 to win the third DPOY award of his career. Donald was the preseason favorite at +700 and leads the NFL with 7.5 sacks, though the next player on the oddsboard is right behind him with seven sacks.

That player is Cleveland Browns defensive end Myles Garrett, who is having a decent comeback season after last year’s helmet-swinging debacle involving the Steelers. Garrett seems to have put that behind him and is listed at +350 in NFL Defensive Player of the Year odds.

If you’re a new bettor and you’ve never wagered on NFL Futures before, you’re in luck because Odds Shark has a handy guide on how to bet on the NFL that will get you up to speed.

If you prefer offense over defense, you can also read up on which player is the favorite to win the NFL MVP Award in 2020.

Who is the Favorite to Win NFL Defensive Player of the Year?

2020 NFL Defensive Player of the Year Award Odds
PlayerCurrent OddsOpening Odds
Aaron Donald+300+700
Myles Garrett+350+1300
TJ Watt+600+1300
Khalil Mack+750+1100
Za’Darius Smith+2000+5000
Joey Bosa+2200+2000
Jamal Adams+2500+3000
Darius Leonard+2800+3300
Jalen Ramsey+2800+4000
Bobby Wagner+3500+3300
JJ Watt+3500+1300
Minkah Fitzpatrick+3500+4000
Stephon Gilmore+3500+2000
Tre’Davious White+3500+3300
Bradley Chubb+4000+4000
Calais Campbell+4000+5000
Chase Young+4000N/A
DeForest Buckner+4000+4000
Shaquil Barrett+4000+3300
Jadeveon Clowney+4500+2500
Tyrann Mathieu+4500+4000

Odds as of October 22 at Bovada

Toss-Up Between Donald and Garrett

Through six weeks of the 2020 NFL season, it’s safe to say that Aaron Donald and Myles Garrett have been the most impactful defensive players thus far. The sacks are obviously an easy stat to gravitate to but it’s the quarterback pressures and knockdowns that don’t get enough shine.

Donald and Garrett both rank in the top five in quarterback pressures but the edge (no pun intended) may go to Donald because of his position. It’s much harder to cause disruption on a per play basis when you’re in the middle of the line as opposed to on the edge.

Another reason why Donald may have the advantage is the secondary behind him and the success of his team. As good as the Browns secondary can be, they don’t have a talent like the Rams’ Jalen Ramsey (+2800) to cover up mistakes if Donald can’t get to the quarterback. Ramsey’s ability to cover receivers gives Donald more time to get to the QB, which in turn leads to more sacks.

Garrett could very well still win the award but he would need to keep pace with Donald in the sacks race while also helping to lead the Browns to the postseason. Both are doable but it’s hard to overlook Donald in NFL Defensive Player of the Year odds when he’s outdoing Garrett in key categories.

Long Shot to Consider for NFL DPOY Odds

He still has a lot of work to do to get included in the Donald/Garrett conversation, but bettors should keep an eye on Steelers safety Minkah Fitzpatrick. The third-year defender has fit into the Steelers culture like a glove with his ability to defend the deep ball but also as a playmaker, which was evident when he took an interception to the house vs the Browns in Week 6.

Fitzpatrick at +3500 odds is very enticing given how the Steelers defensive unit has performed through five games, ranking third in points allowed per game, second in rushing yards allowed per game and eighth in passing yards allowed per game.

This isn’t to say Fitzpatrick is the direct reason but if he keeps getting interceptions as a result of the Steelers’ pressure on the quarterback, he has to be in the discussion for NFL DPOY as he was last season when he had five interceptions in a seven-game span. TJ Watt (+600) may get the credit for pressuring the quarterback but if Fitzy continues to be a ballhawk, his odds will only trend downward.

Understanding NFL Defensive Player of the Year Odds

When you check out your football sportsbook of choice, you’ll see defensive player odds that look something like this:

Aaron Donald +700

Nick Bosa +850

Khalil Mack +1100

TJ Watt +12300

Chandler Jones +2000

To bet on these odds, you would be making a futures bet – more on that in a bit. In this case, there is no clear favorite like there would be on a moneyline or spread bet. When you don’t see odds with a minus sign (-) beside them, then the player with the lowest odds is the fave. The rest are considered underdogs.

If you think Aaron Donald is the defensive player to beat, and you bet $100 on him, you’d get a payout of $800 – you get your $100 back along with your winnings of $700.

Our Odds Calculator will show you how much you’d win based on the odds and amount bet.

What is a Prop Bet?

A prop is a bet on the occurrence or non-occurrence of certain outcomes that may not necessarily upset the outcome of an NFL game. In this case, it’s the Defensive Player of the Year, an award given out after the regular season.

You can make a bet like this as soon as the odds are announced. Oddsmakers will move the lines as players pad their stats, succumb to injury or their production decreases. If you see odds you like, jump on them like a loose ball after a fumble, otherwise the action could move so much that you’ll barely make a profit or maybe even not make one at all.